We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petty's BBQ

Petty's BBQ
1104 Kathey Dr, Killeen, TX 76542-1682
254-432-7388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 202 Restaurants in Killeen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed that the only meat that was left was ribs and pork when we got to Petty's but the pork didn't let me down. I didn't care for the ribs but the pork was excellent! The green beans were the best I have ever tasted in my whole life! The staff was friendly, (I didn't meet the trash talking man). The banana pudding was wonderful!!!!! I am not familiar with Texas style of BBQ, but I was not disappointed at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not the best.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The old man does talk trash about other businesses. It's not the best by far. If you want good affordable BBQ that's not dry then you should go to Choice BBQ.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

LOVE the bar-b-q at Petty's - and this is after trying many different restaurants in the area. The meat was so good. The potato salad was definitely the best in Killeen. My husband loved the green beans. Definitely worth the visit. They are closed on Sunday and Monday though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved Petty's. Not much to look at from the outside and only a few picnic tables inside. But the BBQ beef and Pork was amazing. Reasonably priced too - $4 for a decent size sandwich. Good sides and desserts too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BBQ From Back East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

They have your Texas standards in bbq such as sausage and brisket. The best thing though is their pulled pork. This is the only place I've found in Texas that actually has it. Most places that claim to have it actually have chopped and dry pork roast (aka not pulled pork). Their sides and signature bbq sauce are run of the mill. The place is worth you time and money. It is the best bbq I've had out here this far.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petty's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Petty's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petty's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.