We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Onion Indian Bistro

Red Onion Indian Bistro
1908 E Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76541-9110
254-699-0006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 202 Restaurants in Killeen
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had to fly into Killeen recently for a quick trip to Temple. We stopped in on a Friday night to check out the Red Onion. I was impressed! The chicken tandoor was delicious and plentiful. The owner brought us to go boxes as we had enough leftovers for dinner the next night. This is a Central Texas gem. Check it out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good buffet for 10 bucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A great indian restaurant, we tried the lunch buffet and it was superb. The chicken tika masala, sag paneer, nan, kheer, chicken tandoor....all good! My wife gets a Kmart jones every now and than and if we're in Killeen anyway....Red Onion here we come!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ethnic Find in a Bland City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A delightful find in the strip-mall, fast-food-dominated city of Killeen, Red Onion has delicious Indian (North and South) food for an excellent price. The ambiance isn't much, but the food and portion sizes more than make up for it. Prepare yourself to take home leftovers, and to come back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort hood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had never been to an Indian restaurant but had heard wonderful things about this place and wanted to try it. My husband and I ordered the dinner for two so were able to try a few different things. The food was really good. The people were very friendly. We will be going back again for more date nights!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I really like the lunch buffet. We always like to try different types of food and this was the best way to try a little bit of everything. The fried cauliflower and bread is awesome! I would recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Onion Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.