We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Texas Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Junction Highway, Kerrville, TX 78028 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Kerrville
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Texas Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent Labor Day weekend here because wanted an easy, inexpensive getaway. The three pools and expansive grounds helped make my decision. We had a renovated room (I think the groupon folks are getting the older rooms...sorry!) with a small patio and we thoroughly loved our room. The green color scheme was very nice/different and the wood ceiling and rock wall gave it that Texas feel I like so much. We had a nice seating area inside the room which we used a lot. The pools made the experience. The large main pool did attract a lot of people and though the crowd was generally well behaved, I agree with a previous reviewer that sometimes folks have to be reminded that we all have a right to enjoy a property's amenities. The small rock pool was gorgeous if not a little cool. We really liked the Guadalupe River pool....it was warmer and not as many people there. We could swim and read without being disturbed. While I enjoyed my little patio as I drank coffee and watched a hawk stalking prey, there were numerous areas for people to meet outside and talk, so it was a good place for folks travelling together. The breakfast was better than average for a free continental, with lots of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, juices and pastries. You can upgrade to the bigger breakfast for a few dollars more but we were content with what came with the room. The cantina bar was convenient and we used it a lot. Kerrville is a very pleasant place but is obviously a place where people work and live. It's not Fredricksburg...but Kerrville has that beautiful river! Comfort has some nice shopping close by and we visited the bat tunnel outside of Comfort Sunday night. Very worth the 30 min drive. Again, if you want a good Texas experience, this was a great choice!

Room Tip: When you make a reservation make sure it says "renovated room" for the newer rooms;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    45
    35
    15
See reviews for
66
98
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family with two children under age 5 loved our stay at Inn of the Hills. The vibe was family casual, the pool was full of children and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the nearby river and playground as well as several other laid back places that Kerrville had to offer. Our room was updated and clean and we lived stepping out the back door to the pool area. We will certainly be returning to Inn of the Hills.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoy getting away to bed and breakfast spots within driving distance from our home in Round Rock, TX (just outside of Austin). We jumped on a TravelZoo deal for Inn of the Hills in Kerrville, TX which included lodging, a $25 credit toward meals and continental breakfast. Our expectations were not super high so for the money, this was a no brainer. We stopped in Fredricksburg, TX on the way and enjoyed wine tasting at one of the many tasting spots in the area. We then walked the shops on main street and had a great time. Mid afternoon, we drove a short 25 minutes to Kerrville after stopping at the local HEB for wine, cheese, grapes and some crackers. We checked in at the Inn of the Hills and were greeted with a great big southern Texas welcome. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. We got to our room and changed to head to the pool after a long day in the 100 degree plus heat. The pool was surrounded by large oak trees and was quite nice and refreshing. It was well maintained for an older pool and property so we couldn't complain. They actually have 3 pools including one that is about an 8 minute walk but is right on the Guadalupe River. Very nice views but the pool itself was just OK. We ate at the Alpine Lodge for dinner and the menu was quite limited. It appears that their evening buffets (not served this night) are supposed to be pretty good. The next morning however, we enjoyed their breakfast buffet and it was very good! Lots of fresh fruit, waffle station, good ole' southern biscuits and gravy - lots of variety. Overall, it was a very nice stay and again the staff were quite friendly. As long as you are not expecting a 5 star B&B, then it is worth the get away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I attended a conference at Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference center in August 2013. As a conference center the hotel is really good. They have a very large room that can accommodate a lot of people.

The hotel had a nice lobby, restaurant, and court yards, see pictures. The pool was nice and clean and I think they had another pool down by the lake they just didn't tell you about it.

The rooms are where this hotel fell short. They were old school style. The beds were comfortable and the furnishing decent just expect a motel style room, not a resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and a room that opens to the court yard, that may have made a big difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The folks at Inn of the Hills are down to earth and,very friendly. The hotel is old and is like stepping back in time. The pool is totally great. Very nice. The buffet is good home cooking. And the desserts are outrageously awesome. They will deliver to your room when the restaurant is open. It opens at 6AM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has personality, it's older but well maintained. Our room (located near the pools) had been renovated. The king room is very large. We had a good dinner in the Alpine restaurant. The complimentary continental breakfast has lots of choices, but hot breakfast was only about $7 additional with excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Similar to other reviews, we used a Groupon to try our the hotel. Although a bit outdated, the stay would have been a complete success were it not for the pool experience.

Room was indeed outdated, but the bed was comfortable and A/C worked well. Wireless internet was speedy. The room was not clean however in that there were peanuts, chips, crumbs, etc scattered about the room throughout our stay.

The pool area looked promising, but three days in a row, there were no towels. It seemed that access to the pool was not managed such that all humanity was there which strained availability of towels and space in the pool, particularly when some pool users brought a float the size of the deep end holding about 8 - 10 people. At 10 pm Saturday night, the pool looked like a storm hit it. At 10 am on Sunday, the pool had been untouched and strangely enough, no towels. Biggest problem here is that no one keeps users within a reasonable behavior or limiting access to guests, i.e. throwing full size footballs, tennis balls or any other projectiles all over the place, drinking from beer cans while floating in the pool and having competing boom boxes across each other. Felt as though we were at a crowded beach.

The attached pub was fun and band very enjoyable. We're not C&W music fans, but the band was very engaging and coxed everyone including us to the dance floor.

Restaurant workers all worked very hard. We felt they were constantly running. I believe our server's name was Rhonda and she was a gem. Food was good quality and plentiful. We made a special request for a tall glass and some chocolate syrup which was always delivered with a smile.

Kerrville overall was a mixed bag. It seemed a bit dead, but a visit to Mamacitas, Grape Juice (wine bar) and Azul (cocktail bar in historic building) were all enjoyable. Trip to Fredericksburg and Enchanted Rock were excellent.

Overall, the trip would have been a complete success if the pool experience had been more enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference

Address: 1001 Junction Highway, Kerrville, TX 78028 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark resort for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Hotel Of The Hills Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Hills Resort & Conference, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.