We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food at a Reasonable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Gene's Restaurant

Billy Gene's Restaurant
1489 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4808
830-895-7377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 104 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been going to Billy Gene's since they opened a few years ago, but have noticed that they have recently changed their menu a little bit. BUT, it has not affected the quality of their food. Currently they are offering really good food and a reasonable rate. I suggest trying their chicken fried chicken or the 6 oz steak.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    76
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't know why so many people go there?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times always hoping the food will be better. Unfortuneately, it never is. This is a Kerrville, TX haunt for many people, usually the elderly. That may be why the food is so bland. Nice people, good service and great pies and deserts. Just O.K. food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to dine by the Guadalupe River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We always make time to stop at Billy Gene's when we are in Kerrville. The home-style food is good and the view of the river is magnificent! We always get a table outside. Really fun!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great family restaurant! Reasonble prices. Best chicken fried steak, awesome onion rings. beautiful view of the Guadalupe river.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I ate lunch here with three friends. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I had the pepper steak (hamburger steak stuffed with jalapenos and cheese)--it was very tasty and had just the right amount of heat. Others at the table had meatlof, fried catfish, and a cheese smothered chicken breast. Each of us was allowed to pick two sides including baked potatoes. The server was very helpful, efficient, and friendly. The restaurant offers a nice view of the river.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Gene's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Billy Gene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Gene's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.