We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
2110 Sidney Baker St, Kerrville, TX 78028-2535
830-896-7808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 101 Restaurants in Kerrville
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Socorro, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Barrel in Feb 2013. Food was hot and the service was prompt. We have eaten here several times through the years while on travel. The wait staff was friendly.

The gift shop is fun and you can browse at bit while you wait for your food. Old farm tools and old signs adorn the Barrel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Junction
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always enjoy the food at Cracker Barrel. The wait to get in... not so much, but they do have the gift shop, rocking chairs, and checkers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabail, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly staff, hot fresh food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We received our food very quickly. Their dishes are priced right. And as always shopping in the store area after eating is so much fun, partially due to great prices on all items.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Of course this location is crowded like any Cracker Barrel. I went for breakfast and ordered eggs and smokehouse sausage. I was not impressed with the sausage at all. I guess I like the taste of regular American style breakfast sausage. Service was excellent but the sausage pretty much spoiled my review of it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
“A below-average Cracker Barrel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I love Cracker Barrels, but not this one. In the three years I've been coming here, it's slid from being OK down to the point where it's hardly worth the hassle. If my wife wasn't addicted to their ribeyes, I would have stopped going a long time ago. These folks just don't have their act together. For some reason, the waitperson who brings out your order is almost never the one who took the order, so she/he has no clue what you actually asked for -- and because of that, the order is often wrong. There's crazy variation in the way items are prepared -- one time, your steak will be so covered with pepper that you can hardly see the meat, the next time, no seasoning at all; two steaks ordered medium-rare at the same time will come out one rare and one well-done. And their take-out system is a disaster. In the last six times I've done a takeout, two orders had the wrong items and three were incomplete. The sixth order was right, but no-one bothered to bring it out until I waited a long time and finally asked about it, so it was cold by the time I got home. I don't know why this place is so much worse than any other CB store, but it really needs help. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.