We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular site for home cooking dishes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at the Ridge

Cafe at the Ridge
13439 S Ranch Road 783 (Harper Road), Kerrville, TX 78028
+1 830-896-0420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 104 Restaurants in Kerrville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Family Fare, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cafe at The Ridge is a place to gather, not just around a plate of great food, but around each other. The Ridge offers a place to share stories over a glass of sweet tea and a chicken fried steak. All of our delicious family recipes are created using only the freshest of ingredients and are perfect for the whole family.
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Popular site for home cooking dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friend and I had lunch at the Cafe yesterday. It was quite popular with the locals. Busy. I had a 1/4 pound burger with cheese and bacon. It was ok, but average. I had okra fries with it. I prefer fried okra to be in "balls" not in strips, but it was again OK. My friend had a BLT with avocado and potato chip fries. She said the sandwich was good, and she loved the fries. For dessert, I had the carrot cake which was the best part of the meal. My friend had lemon meringue pie, and she liked it.

After our meal, we walked in the nursery area to admire the plants and flowers. They specialize in Native plants. It is a very nice nursery. There is a nice gift shop in the nursery area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch and especially enjoyed the carrot cake! We take a lot of pride in having nice plants and flowers for our guests to admire. We hope that you will join us again to try some of the other variety we offer here! We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Billy Long (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville
1 review
“Horrible waitstaff, owner and food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Food is overpriced, overcooked, and beware if you order takeout. They leave something IMPORTANT EVERYTIME!
Pies are great but seriously overpriced.
Garden department never has staff to check you out and when they do..folks were rude and I was told to "pay cash".....
Will NOT return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Manager at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I apologize for your treatment. Every guest is very important to us and we will use this review to remind our staff of exactly that. We take pride in our food & service and want to make sure everyone is satisfied. ~The Team at Cafe at the Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I loved the down home made-fromiscratch menu items. At the time we went, we were the only ones there, so we were treated like royalty. We loved it. We had a very knowldgeable and friendly waitress. The chicken fried steak was superb and also the sides. Ecey from Tuxedo Hair Salon gave it two thumbs up. Again, was worth the drive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, General Manager at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much -- we really appreciate your great words & business! ~The Team at Cafe at the Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food is so-so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Love the atmosphere of this place, but the food is not up to par yet. Ordered pancakes, they came out barely warm (sent them back to be nuked), and they were over-cooked (not from the re-warming), actually were burnt in some areas. Husband had breakfast, eggs, bacon and toast and it was ok. The waitstaff never checked back to see if our food was fine and I didn't mention the overcooked pancakes until we were leaving as no one was around. The breakfast tacos are huge, my brother-in-law got those and said they were good. He ordered three, but two would have worked. Sister-in-law had the Denver omelet and she said it was good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We at Café at the Ridge would like to apologize for the level of service you have received. We greatly appreciate all of our guest and will strive to improve on the service aspects you have mentioned. Please let myself or any manager know right away if you are unhappy with your order and we will do our best to make you something you love. Once again, please accept our sincere apology for this unfortunate incident and thank you for letting us know about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the fresh ingredients.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This was the 4th time to visit. Food was very good. Fresh ingredients! Very busy time. Service was so-so. Our "chewing her gum" waitress kept talking to her son (who was not working but helped himself to the soda machine), and another, very efficient waitress told us our food was almost ready and refilled our glasses twice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we will use your comments in our efforts to improve. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at the Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at the Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at the Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.