We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buzzie's Bar-B-Que

Buzzie's Bar-B-Que
213 Schreiner St, Kerrville, TX 78028
830-257-4540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Kerrville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

For Texas, this joint is only just average. I've had better bbq in Texas. The brisket is very good, along with the sausage, but the ribs had too much seasoning that left an unpleasant taste in your mouth. The prices were pretty reasonable for a plate of BBQ and sides; however, the food just didn't match up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great BBQ restaurant, and the best menu item is the Buzzies Daily Poorboy Special. It seems like a lot for a sandwich at $9.95, but it is well worth it and is a whole meal. The sandwich has chopped brisket, sausage, and chopped brisket. Two people could split this sandwich and still leave satified. This is a delicious combination of 3 meats and their sauce is excellent. If you are in Kerrville and like BBQ this is the place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cute BBQ Joint With Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This BBQ joint has great atmosphere, but the brisket is average. After driving from DFW all day, we decided to take our order back to the hotel. After returning to our hotel, we discovered that the staff forgot to place the BBQ sauce in our order, but threw in a small container of chopped beef. Go figure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We made a special trip here to eat at Buzzie's. For Texas bar-b-que I've had much better. It was passable but really a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Smoked Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good ribs and brisket. Large portions. Clean and fast service. Helpful staff. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda H, Owner at Buzzie's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you, ECDCNewton for taking the time to write a GREAT review! I saw on the News, the other night where (specifically) TripAdvisor was filtering out good reviews and only printing bad ones. A gentleman from San Antonio called in "The Defenders" to investigate. I don't know how long your review will be posted, but wanted to thank you personally for your kind words about our business! BLESSINGS TO YOU!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzzie's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Buzzie's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzzie's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.