We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honetymoon Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kemah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clipper House Inn
Save
You added Clipper House Inn to your Saves list
710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kemah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“Excellent Honetymoon Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

So nice, comfy, and convenient! Short walk to Boardwalk, local pubs and restaurants! We stayed at Romance Cottage which had a wonderful shower spa! Instead of heading down to Boardwalk for Fri Night fireworks, we took chairs and went down the street to watch them (thanks to Barbara's tip) in a more secluded area. It was nice to be away from the crowds and excellent view!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    14
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I booked the "Cutty Sark" for a much needed weekend getaway for our 5th Anniversary! And was actually our first EVER getaway alone! (circumstances prevented us from our honeymoon) It was truly MAGICAL! Our cottage was adorable! Fresh flowers, homemade wine bread & fruit basket along with homemade wine-cake & a bottle of wine, dated with our names & "Happy Anniversary" awaited us in our cottage! We were given a wine tour and tasting that was really amazing! Barbara was so thoughtful and wonderful! Friday fireworks over the boardwalk were a special treat, and we watch them from the back of our pickup without having to be at the boardwalk! There is a journal in the room where previous guests had written about their stay which we thought was very unique! We unwound in a romantic room with a nice hot bath in an old fashioned clawfoot tub! We enjoyed relaxing out on the porch swing listening to nature! The common areas were filled with colorful flowers, gazebos, fountains and rock paths! Everything is within walking distance ~ even the boardwalk! Which we had intended on going to Saturday night, but we were enjoying the quietness, quaintness of our cottage so much that we just stayed in! It was restful and romantic! Just what we needed! We can't wait to go back! If you are looking for a magical getaway ~ you won't be disappointed! This is our new getaway place we intend on at least yearly!!! Thank you Barbara!

Room Tip: Any of them will be wonderful! Just personal choice on size & tub! You can't go wrong no mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week and it was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. The Clipper House Inn is a group of 1920's cottages in a garden setting that feels like a step back in time.

Barbara is attentive and friendly. Our cottage was warm and inviting.

It's just a short walk to the Boardwalk. The shopkeepers are all friendly and helpful.

I recommend going to visit Kemah during the week in the late spring. It's not crowded and is the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My hubby booked a 2 night stay for us in "The Romance". Accidentally booked the wrong 2 nights and called Mrs. Barbara to try and reschedule. She got us all sorted out. We arrived late Friday night and we're greeted with fresh fruits and wine bread. They waited till we left saturday, came in, sorted fresh bath towels and left more fruit and bread. She lead us through a tour of their winery around back and included in our stay was appetizer vouchers and a free wine tasting. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute we were there. There was a journal in the room with all the romances previous occupants so I added our journal entry. I can't wait to go back and neither can my husband. KJSM & ESM

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I came here for a much needed romantic weekend getaway. We stayed in the Mont Blanc. The cottage is their smallest but it was very cozy for the two of us. Once in our cottage we found fresh pastry and a fruit basket and a bottle of wine with my girlfriend's name on label and saying Happy Birthday(also a belated Birthday gift trip). We took the wine tour, which was great, and were given our cheese tray and wine sampling that was all part of the stay there (ended up buying three bottles of wine). Barabara was an excellent tour guide. She told us about a great seafood restaurant, that was right on the water and served excellent seafood. The next day we enjoyed dinner at Tabella (the restaurant that is on the grounds), which was amazing. All in all a great weekend. On Saturday we did not need to drive any where. Everything we needed was within walking distance, including the boardwalk. We are going to make this a yearly get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have booked the room at the last minute and enjoyed it. I stayed with my husband and two other friends. The challenge is great for one couple and two other people/ kids. In the description they say that they can pull a portable bed. But, it would be very intimate. I don't suggest you to stay five!!
When we arrived it was after 5 and inkeeper was already gone. But, she was so nice and gave me the directions that we could go in our room easily. It was very clean and cake and fruit were tasty.There is no breakfast other than the fruit and cake as well as coffee which you can make in your own room. We expected some breakfast but not a big deal!! The doors are little hard to open. We thought that the door opening to the alcove area was locked but actually it was just stuck.
The garden area is very well kept. It is really relaxing. There is a winery and restaurant behind the inn that we enjoyed different wines. There is also the steak house owned by same people. But, we didn't try. We found two discount coupons for free appetizers in some restaurants on the board walk. We were craving salt and went to Red, a sushi restaurant. It was a great experience and we had our free appetizers there.
Overall I would suggest Clipper Inn for your trip to Kemah. You will have the real experience of board walk and still be away from the noise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to go to Kemah for the evening and celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were shown to our cottage and found homemade bread and a bottle of wine with our name printed on the label to celebrate our aniv. It was a fantastic evening and the Clipper House was relaxing for us both. It is so close to the Boardwalk. We hope to go back and do this again. We would like to go and actually take the tour of the winery which we did not get to do this time

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clipper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper House Inn

Address: 710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clipper House Inn is located in the heart of Kemah only blocks from the Boardwalk and marina. We feature private cottages with luxurious amenities designed to provide a relaxing getaway. Our on-site winery offers award-winning wines and a great experience while staying at the B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.