We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Romantic, Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kemah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clipper House Inn
Save Saved
You added Clipper House Inn to your Saves list
710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kemah B&B and Inns
houston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Romantic, Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Title pretty much says it all. Barbara & her husband Jerry were the nicest, most accomidating people I have run in to in quite some time. There are a lot of people that could learn from these fine folks. From the moment we arrived they couldnt have been more helpful and wanted to make sure everything was perfect. We stayed in The Flying Cloud cottage which was just as advertised, and comfortable, and like home away from home. Walking distance from the Boardwalk and the Lighthouse District (shopping and dining). The music from the Restaurant/Bar next door (Go-N-Loco) was an added bonus for us because they were playing 80's music the whole night (until 11 Sat. Night), from R&B to Classic Rock to Country. We even found ourselves dancing on the back/front porch. This is a must stay when in Kemah and look forward to coming again. Thanks again Barbara & Jerry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
95
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clipper House for our 20th wedding anniversary weekend - lived in LaPorte in the early 90s then moved away. We hadn't seen the area in 18 years. Wow! What a transformation Kemah has undergone. You have to see it. And if you do, stay at the Clipper House. The Mont Blanc was quaint and perfect for us. We loved the separate cottage concept. Barbara is very sweet and accommodating - even gave us a bottle of wine with a special note acknowledging our anniversary. The special attention was really sweet. The property is very nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the romance cottage for our 5th anniversary. We had the best time. It was just what Barbara said it was and perfect for our weekend. It is located within walking distance to shops restaurants and the boardwalk. I will definitely be going back to this little wonderful inn. Anybody looking to go to kemah stay here and not a hotel. You will not regret it. Thanks Barbara for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My best friend and I stayed the weekend in The Romance Cottage. The room was lovely, clean, and spacious. The bed was The inn keepers are very nice and accommodating. The huge shower with multiple sprayers was great. Walking distance from the Boardwalk and the Lighthouse District (shopping and dining). The winery, tasting room, and winery resturant, Tabella, are all about 10 yards away. T-Bone Toms is about 20 yards. Even though the place is right in the middle of everything, we felt as though we were in the country. Very relaxing. We plan on visiting again and taking our husbands for a couples weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Clipper House Inn is a small "Eden". Beautiful, relaxing, within walking distance of Boardwalk and very friendly and accommodating host and hostess. Thanks so much for everything Barbara and Jerry. The Winery was 'intoxicating'. Thanks Dee for putting up with the 'crazy cajuns'. Don't leave the winery without at least one bottle of their wine. There are so many to choose from, you will probably do what I did and leave with two. The Winery restaurant is 'delicious dining' with a cozy atmosphere. Thanks Kyle for taking excellent care of us. We will be back to try another cottage; although the "Flying Cloud" was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent two weeks in the Cutty Sark in November 2012. It suited us very well as we were in Texas to visit family, who could not accommodate us. The Cutty Sark had everything we needed for a two week stay, including a very comfortable bed. It is sited well away from the traffic in a peaceful area less than ten minutes walk from The Boardwalk. There is a Target, and other stores, less than ten minutes away, on foot and Barbara and Jerry, the Innkeepers, were very welcoming and hospitable. There is a very pleasant garden area with seats and a pool in the complex of 1930s cottages. If we get back to that area of Texas I would have no hesitation in returning to The Clipper House Inn.

Room Tip: The Cutty Sark has a kitchen with oven and fridge, which made us choose it over the other cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm not a bed and breakfast kind of girl but this place is just wonderful. Barbara decorated the room with a mini Christmas tree that just delighted my two year old. The location is just perfect - very near the Boardwalk with easy access to the main road. I would love to make this place an after Thanksgiving tradition. There is a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker as well as utensils and plates in the cabinet! Very well thought out and welcoming :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clipper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper House Inn

Address: 710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clipper House Inn is located in the heart of Kemah only blocks from the Boardwalk and marina. We feature private cottages with luxurious amenities designed to provide a relaxing getaway. Our on-site winery offers award-winning wines and a great experience while staying at the B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.