We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cutty Sark at Clipper House Inn, Kemah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kemah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clipper House Inn
Save Saved
You added Clipper House Inn to your Saves list
710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kemah B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Cutty Sark at Clipper House Inn, Kemah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent two weeks in the Cutty Sark in November 2012. It suited us very well as we were in Texas to visit family, who could not accommodate us. The Cutty Sark had everything we needed for a two week stay, including a very comfortable bed. It is sited well away from the traffic in a peaceful area less than ten minutes walk from The Boardwalk. There is a Target, and other stores, less than ten minutes away, on foot and Barbara and Jerry, the Innkeepers, were very welcoming and hospitable. There is a very pleasant garden area with seats and a pool in the complex of 1930s cottages. If we get back to that area of Texas I would have no hesitation in returning to The Clipper House Inn.

Room Tip: The Cutty Sark has a kitchen with oven and fridge, which made us choose it over the other cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
95
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm not a bed and breakfast kind of girl but this place is just wonderful. Barbara decorated the room with a mini Christmas tree that just delighted my two year old. The location is just perfect - very near the Boardwalk with easy access to the main road. I would love to make this place an after Thanksgiving tradition. There is a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker as well as utensils and plates in the cabinet! Very well thought out and welcoming :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend stay here. The accomodations were excellent, but the personal attention we received from Barbara and Jerry was exceptional. Made us feel very welcomed and appreciated. I would highly recommend the Clipper House Inn. We will definitely be back! Thanks Barbara for the informative wine tour and recommendations. I can't wait to make my blackberry bread.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic birthday get away at the Clipper House Inn. We spent four days staying in the Redoubtable cottage and what a wonderful time we had! Barbara and Jerry greeted us by name, showed us around the grounds and to our room and then gave us the peace we needed. We felt so welcomed and cared for, when we left it was like saying goodbye to life long friends! We enjoyed visiting the Clear Creek Winery where Coco really puts on a great breakfast. She went out of her way to welcome us and show us how wonderful the winery really is. We plan on returning again for his birthday, and I'm sure it will remain one of our favorite spots in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent Saturday evening at the Clipper House at Kemah Boardwalk in conjunction with attending a birthday party on the Boardwalk. The cottage, Redoubtable, was lovely. The wine cake Barbara made was delicious! Enjoyed the fresh fruit bowl too. The cottage was very clean. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at the Clipper House Inn. We were pleased to stay in the Flying Cloud cottage. Nice, cozy place. Very comfortable king-sized bed and a jacuzzi tub for two. Has nice screened-in porch to sit and enjoy the bay breeze. The courtyard at the inn is like a quiet, tropical paradise. Lots of palm trees and plants. Barbara the inn-keeper made us feel welcome and took us to the winery on the grounds to enjoy a complimentary wine-tasting and cheese tray. Good selection of wines. Just a few minutes walk to the Kemah Boardwalk to enjoy the views of the bay, and plenty of restaurant selections. My wife and I are looking to come back again, and she wants to bring her college girlfriends here for a girls-out weekend. Overall a very pleasant exerience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited the Clear Creek Winery, Vineyard & Resort and were lucky to stay at the Clipper House Inn which is located right behind the winery. The Innkeepers were very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Flying Cloud cottage and it was a great place to stay. It is also within walking distance of the Boardwalk so overall our visit to Kemah was very enjoyable. Definitely would look at staying at the Clipper House Inn again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clipper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper House Inn

Address: 710 Bradford Ave., Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clipper House Inn is located in the heart of Kemah only blocks from the Boardwalk and marina. We feature private cottages with luxurious amenities designed to provide a relaxing getaway. Our on-site winery offers award-winning wines and a great experience while staying at the B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.