We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Inn Kemah

Palace Inn Kemah
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Inn Kemah to your Saves list
Palace Inn Kemah
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1411 Highway 146, Kemah, TX 77565 (Formerly Kemah Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Dayton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overnight stay for boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a trip to the boardwalk this hotel was a great value the rooms were clean and there were smoking rooms available. The only negative that I have is the coffee was not all that great

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Friends booked our room and after reading reviews I was skeptical of wanting to stay there. I was pleasantly surprised. No mold in bath areas. Tub had been redone and slip-resistant bottom was so nice I took a picture to see if I could find the same cover for my home tub. No bugs coming from under doors. Didn't try their breakfast as we love eating at Kelly's Diner in League City. Here are my ratings:
Minus: thin towels; low power hair dryer (if your hair is long or thick, bring you own hair dryer); light weight blankets(AC on high gets very cold at night); no sheer panel on huge front window. You have to keep the blackout curtin closed if you want privacy and that makes the room very dark; no table lamps; no elevator, no pool. Room had 2 phones but one of them didn't have connection cords.
Plus: Lage room and low price; very, very clean; mini-frige/freezer, microwave; comfortable bed; basin & counter is outside the tub/shower/toilet area. thus allowing one person to shower and one to put on makeup; brush teeth, etc.; Bathroom looked like it had all new toilet/tub/shower curtin. I'd recommend this hotel to friends/family.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs room if you can't climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here three years ago when it was a Days Inn because it was within our budget and near to Kemah Boardwalk. We were doing a bit of travelling this year and were flying into Houston and as we loved Kemah, thought we'd spend a night there before moving on. This place was once again within our budget and as we now know the area, it made sense to stay here.

Since our previous stay, nothing has changed except the management and the sign.

We checked in easily enough and our room was what we expected. There is a fridge and a microwave, a living area with a small sofa and a TV over the double bed. The bathroom was clean but the whole place could do with a makeover as the décor is so old fashioned. We didn't find any bugs or burn marks as mentioned by other guests and the sheets were clean but there were scorch marks on the bed spread the last time we stayed here.

The toilet broke when I flushed it at 4am and was continually filling so my husband had a look at the cistern and the whole thing was rusty and something had snapped due to this. We were leaving early anyway so didn't report this until a couple of hours later so I can't comment on how quickly it was fixed or anything.

For convenience, this is about a 10 minute walk from Kemah Boardwalk (partly along the highway so be careful) and is right near a police station so reasonably safe! Don't bother getting a cab to the Boardwalk as we were ripped off last time we stayed - the cabs come from Houston so bump up their prices to compensate and they charged us $20 for what is about a mile walk!

The breakfast is poor - sugar coated cereal, toast and nasty orange juice or coffee but we knew this and had already planned to grab something from Starbucks at the Boardwalk whiulst watching the sunrise (jetlag!).

The rooms are basic but very outdated and

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked a room for Saturday, April 27th. Before travelling to the hotel, a torrential rainstorm and flash flooding caused highways to be closed, including Beltway 8. When I called the hotel, I could barely hear what they were saying because of the weather, rain, and hail. They would only offer a partial refund.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Convenient to the Kemah Boardwalk but not a very comfortable bed and there was a bug on top of the sheets when I got up in the morning. Be careful in the shower. The tub is really slick. No kind of texture on the bottom.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is now a "Palace Inn" They do not give you your choice privilages points. And the room I reserved, a king room, had no couch. It was not dirty, but was not as nice as the Days Inn's I have stayed at before. It could be that the hotels near the beach get more use.............
Was not worth the price, $190 for friday and saturday. The locatian was perfect for the things we were doing so the experience was not bad. Sattelite tv goes in and out during rain. No pool. Continental breakfast is not available unless you like watered down apple juice and fruit loops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Inn Kemah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Inn Kemah

Address: 1411 Highway 146, Kemah, TX 77565 (Formerly Kemah Days Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palace Inn Kemah 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Inn Kemah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemah Days Hotel Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
Kemah Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Inn Kemah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.