We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Better Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landry's Seafood House

Landry's Seafood House
1 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7901 (Formerly Landry's Seafood House)
2813342513
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Webster, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Food, Better Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate our 20th Anniversary dinner here. The food was very good. The service was even better. And the scenery awesome. I recommend arriving a bit early so you can get a seat close to the window.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    56
    35
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful water view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We live in the area of this restaurant and have a lot of choices of places to eat, but we have friends who come down to Kemah and want seafood, so we take them to Landrys on occasion. The view out the windows of the yachts and boats passing by is really amazing, especially at sunset. The staff seems well trained and attentive, the menu choices are plentiful, the service is pretty efficient, so I really have no negative remarks to say. It's probably awesome for some people, but seems a little hotel food like, mass production in my opinion, so if your a glorified foodie and have to have something really gastronomic, you won't find it anywhere on this boardwalk. There are some good choices of things to eat though, just depends on your taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cant go wrong with Landrys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been going to this location to eat long before this amusement place had existed.There was another well known restaurant that occupied this area on the water. As a child I went there with my parents a lot. We choose landrys for its location and the food and service has always been good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice location. Good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is located right on the water. We were seated inside, but next to windows that looked out onto the water. Beautiful.
We stopped here around 2pm for a late lunch - early dinner. There was no wait and we were seated promptly. Our server was very pleasant and attentive.
My wife ordered the Fresh Catch Pontchartrain and greatly enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for my Coastal Seafood Pasta. I can only surmise that something caused my meal to be done long before my wife's, because it must have sat under a heat lamp for a while. The pasta had become stuck together to the point of having to actually cut through it, rather than curl it onto the fork. Further, the scallops and shrimp were overcooked and rubbery. The mussels were better, but not really hot. As many establishments do, the server appeared at our table to check on us almost immediately after the food arrived - so the meal's shortcomings weren't yet apparent.
This is a quality establishment and it's likely that I just caught the kitchen at a bad moment or something - I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.
To their credit, the manager stopped by the table as she was cruising through the dining room and asked how our meal was. When I told her of the problems, she was sincerely aghast and wanted to do something to make it better. I declined her offer of a dessert and assured her that I assumed it "was just one of those things" that happen occasionally.
I certainly would be willing to come here again - and give them another chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed sitting on the boardwalk and watching the boats come in. Good food, good drinks, and a relaxing atmosphere. Would love to return!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landry's Seafood House also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Landry's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landry's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.