We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better of all the other board walk restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar
9 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7901
(281) 334-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 64 restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better of all the other board walk restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here on numerous occasions and always receive good service the area is always busy we expect delays. This time our lunch wait was a few minutes. Our mixed drinks were on the weak side our waiter reverse the charges and we ordered other mixed drinks. We usually stick with the basics for seafood here I do like their fish n chips. The food is served hot and the portions are generous. We come here for the location, they can accommodate large groups, and for kids play ground. Of course also for the good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    37
    42
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Boardwalk seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I grew up in the area and use to enjoy Captain John's many years before the Landry's corporation re-developed the area into a NJ style boardwalk. I no longer live in Tx but when I visit nearby I try to make a visit to Kemah for great Gulf Coast seafood. I've eaten at the Flying Dutchman a few times, always sitting outside near the strolling walkway to watch the boats (fishing and pleasure) sail by. I've never eaten anything but seafood and have not been disappointed. On my last visit I ate a shrimp salad. My only complaint was that it was a little heavy on the mayo. Still there was a very good amount of shrimp in the salad.
NOTE: For families with children there is a nice little playground for the small ones on their outdoor deck. If you do not have children, ask to be seated a little bit away from this area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar land
1 review
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Took the family for a fun afternoon to Kemah, decided to go have dinner at the Flying Dutchman. We had been there several times but this experience was totally different, the wait time was suppose to be 30 mins waited 45 mins went to ask how much longer a couple who was in front of me apparently had reservations but they could not find there name walked in and were seated immediately. I then was acknowledge even though there were three hostess and one of the girls told me that it was going to be another 15 to 20 mins. Spoke with management found a table then we were seated. After being seated no one ever came to take our order or even acknowledge us for that matter but two other tables that were seated after us were attended quickly. Spoke with management told them of the poor service and left. Went to Cheddars and received the best service ever. Big disappointment with Flying Dutchman would not recommend to anyone!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went here in the afternoon with family while we stayed at the Inn. Had some real good food and beer! My brother in law loves oysters and that's why we decided on this place. Very good and the service was great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The entree of blackened redfish topped with "bar trash" was very tasty. The oysters left a lot to be desired. I knew something was not right when the waitress returned real quickly with the oysters. They had obviously been pre-shucked and kept in the fridge long enough that several were dessicated. They were just OK. If you're going to advertyise yourself as & Oyster Bar, you should be shucking fresh, not playing like you are red Lobster. Come on people!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.