We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar
9 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7901
(281) 334-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 65 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice view mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

There were four adults and a toddler and we enjoyed sitting outside. Shrimp and calamari were served Luke warm and fries were cold. Stuffed jalapeño was good. Not worth the money spent.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the sunset view was terrific OH, and you have to try the new fried macaroni appetizer....mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I were staying at the Boardwalk Inn, and this restaurant was recommended by the Inn staff. We walked to it from the Inn. The food was great. The service was superb. The location was perfect. Loved the experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, not great for the price. Great setting on the bay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Had steak, green beans and potatoes. Dined with a large group of 14, service was slow, but could have been the large group. Great view of the boats coming and going from the marina to the bay.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Flying Dutchman! 5 STARS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On the night prior to our cruise out of Galveston we had planned on making a trip to Fish Tales on Galveston Island. Due to weather and traffic, we decided to take a detour and head to Kemah, TX for dinner.

When we got there, we went to The Flying Dutchman Restaurant on the Kemah Boardwalk. My initial impression was "too pricy", as it is a very nice looking restaurant. I didn't have to worry long, as the prices were in the same range as those at Fish Tales and the other restaurants we've eaten at in Galveston in the past.

They have their own menu, but as a Landry's Property, they have a few of the "specials" from Fish Tales (shrimp kisses being one of them). The wait staff is very friendly and made dinner an experience. Shrimp Kisses, Fish & Chips, drinks...all EXCELLENT!

We will be planning a trip back to Kemah in the future, and will make the Flying Dutchman part of our trip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.