We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, but not worth the price of admission!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium

Aquarium
11 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7901
(281) 334-9010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 65 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Jacksonville, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice views, but not worth the price of admission!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First of all, this place doubles as an aquarium and a restaurant.......Has a great view of the fish and sea creatures just about anywhere you sit in the restaurant, however, expect to get lots of kids and rude adults bumping around your table if you are close to the tank. The place is super noisy and trying to carry on a conversation is almost impossible. If you are with a group, forget hearing anything the person on the far end of your table will have to say. The service is a bit above average as the wait staff usually have at least two folks to handle each large table. The menu is very pricey. I know, I know, seafood is expensive, but not that expensive. And the seafood you get doesn't appear to be of the highest quality either. I would presume that its probably frozen, commercial style seafood and by looking at what everyone in our party got, my suspicions were confirmed. My fish was inedible....all the menu said was "white fish", so no tell what kind it was. The fried shrimp were nothing more than "box style" straight from the freezer to the deep fryer.....nothing more nothing less. Quality is average. Save your money and your sanity by not having to listen to screaming kids, and walk next door to the other seafood place.....its got to be better than this place. I wont be going back unless its to look at the fish in the tank.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    43
    44
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The dining room has an amazing view,inside and out, and the food was good. We went at lunch and 3 adults shared a platter. Total for 5 of us still $50 plus tip but seafood is expensive everywhere. Next time we will go there for an afternoon dessert instead. Those are not listed on the online menu or we would have done that this time. You can go up to see the dining room fish tanks even if you don't eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tantalizing Tomatoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Aquarium Restaurant at the Kemah Boardwalk is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Aside from the delicious food and our server, Sarah, who made the event even more fun, there are live stingrays to feed and touch. It's a wonderful place! Back to the tomatoes. On this particular trip I opted for lighter fare and tried the Roasted Tomato Bacon Soup and O-M-G, it was amazingly delicious! Roasty, savory, light tomato and bacon flavored liquid gold. I don't even like tomato soup, but the words "roasted" and "bacon" lured me. I will be back for more of all that The Aquarium has to offer. BTW, it's a great place to take kids!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Four visits in last ten years. Beautiful surroundings. Decadent food. Wonderful adult drinks. Desert incredible. Great place for a date or to bring the kids. Giant aquariums located so everyone can enjoy close up or from dining table. Always a treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, MS
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited on 4th of July weekend. It was our first time eating here and we all really enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious and the environment was great. It was great to be able to watch all the fish swim while we waited for our food.

After we ate, we went to the stingray exhibit and pet the stingrays. It was definitely an experience I will remember!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.