We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Passport Inn

Save Saved
You added Passport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Passport Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Spicewood, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Barely ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked a room here in spite of the poor reviews because it was a last minute trip and the other hotels were not available. We arrived at 3:30 for a 3:00 check-in and the room was not ready. We agreed to take a king suite on the 3rd floor and there's no elevator - so the climb in the muggy heat with luggage was frustrating. Door to the room wouldn't open and the desk gal came up and showed us that you have to use your entire body to slam against it to jar it open. Then difficult to close and lock. Room was fairly clean, just old and in need of updates. Oh, and the price - way more expensive than when we booked online - and the gal said she thinks her boss just might have recently raised the prices. Seems sort of shady...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth P, Manager at Passport Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are regretful of your uncomfortable stay with us back in July and appreciate your time and feedback. The hotel is currently under new management. We are aware of the older model door locks and are looking to have them all replaced within the next week. At this time we are also updating and deep cleaning each and every room on the property. We have also fixed the sales tax, so the price you receive online will always be the same price you pay when you arrive at the hotel. Again, we apologize if your stay here was unpleasant and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    7
    47
See reviews for
18
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Did not clean rooms....charged 19% sales tax....charged higher price than web sight....we complained about dirty and stained sheets and the girl working said that all the sheets were that way and they had no maid service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth P, Manager at Passport Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We apologize for your unsatisfying stay here at the Pass Port Inn. Our hotel is currently under new management. We are aware of the sales tax from July and have corrected this issue, recently. Also, we have recently given each room on the property the needed deep clean. We are also upgrading our rooms and furniture to improve our customer satisfaction. We have a new hard working maid service to guarantee a comfortable stay. Again, we regret that your stay with us was disappointing and we appreciate your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley tx.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Read some of the comments about what a great hotel the Passport Inn in Kemah was OMG I'd like to know what rooms you stayed in because our room and everyone eles we talk to said the same thing horrible!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Where to start..... We stayed there last year the first weekend in June just like this year. But last year it was old but VERY clean and everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. This year it was filthy and very run down. After checking in we had to have them come back and clean our room again. Hair all in tub and was not vacuumed since last guest stayed. Just plain nasty!!! Then after the room was cleaned again the tv went out. So we were moved to another room. The next room we moved to was just as nasty. The lock on the door was broke and just a couple of channels on that tv worked. There was load noises and fighting upstairs at night. We called the front office to complain (also went there) about the noise but NO one was in the office at night time. Since our stay we have been trying to get in touch with the manager but he will not return our calls.*FILTHY, RUNDOWN and UNSAFE* .....Rooms should go for $39.00 per night or pay by the hour.

Room Tip: DONOT STAY IN ANY ROOM! Check out rooms first if you decide to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth P, Manager at Passport Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We apologize that your stay In June was at the least unsatisfying. We understand your frustrations and appreciate your time and feedback. Your opinion is very important to us. We are currently under new management and are upgrading our rooms and furniture and giving them all a deep clean. We have a new hard working maid service to guarantee a comfortable stay. We are now open 24 hours a day and 7 days a week, we are sorry that there was not an onsite staff to help with any issues or problems during your stay. Again, we regret that your last stay with us was unpleasant. We can only hope to see you and your family again to guarantee a satisfied stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A year ago we stayed at this hotel, but at that point it was clean, but old. I can handle that, but this year with a new owner id is DISGUSTING & DANGEROUS! We contacted the Fire Marshall of Kemah because behind the bed is an electrical outlet without a cover that was dangling. They had plugged a lamp cord into it which had exposed wires as well. We were afraid that the sheets may catch on fire.The Fire Marshall did investigate yesterday, but I haven't received anymore information yet. My brothers first room's door wouldn't open, so they were moved to a room with an a/c that was horrible not to mention the tv would not work correctly. My parents were moved as well because their room was disgusting. Carpet was not vacuumed, bath tub was dirty. Just standing in their room made you feel disgusting. After the room was clean, we realized the tv didn't work either. Their second room had was a little cleaner, but the beds were covered in plastic & the people above them fought all night of course no one who works at the hotel was available at 4:00am. JUST SAVE YOUR $!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth P, Manager at Passport Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We apologize for your unpleasant stay with us in June 2013. We understand your frustrations and appreciate your feed back. We are currently under new management and are upgrading and deep cleaning each room on the property. Our upgrades include new flat screen TV's, new comfortable beds, and all new room furniture. We are aware of the older model door locks and are looking to have them all replaced within the next week. We are now open 24/7 and are extremely sorry that there was not an onsite staff to help with any issues or problems during your stay. We have a new hardworking maid service to guarantee a comfortable and clean room. Again, we are very sorry that your stay with us was at the least unsatisfying and hope to possible see you and your family again next year to guarantee your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley tx.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First of all the pictures are nothing like the real hotel, We book in December for our weekend the end of April 2013, we were givin a price of $83 when we arrived they tried to charge us $139 we were told that the hotel had a new ower as of January and they were under no obligation to honor the old owners prices. after some arguing we did get the room for $99. the rooms were horrible, we got a double room, one of thr bed felt like it was going to fall when I sat on the end, their was long dark hair all over the room, their was somthing growing in the corner of the tub-shower, the other room was even worse the tolit backe up the sink was slow to drain, their was crums all over the floor from where oneone had eaten in the room and the carpet was not cleaned, and the worse was the stains on the sheets it looked like the sheets had not been changed from the guest before us, so do youself a favor and bypass the Passport Inn in Kemha.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth P, Manager at Passport Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We regret that your stay with us was at the least unsatisfying. At this time we are under new management and we are currently updating our rooms and furniture. We have a new hard working maid service to guarantee a comfortable and clean stay. Again, we are extremely sorry and we look forward to improving our customer satisfaction. We appreciate your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Participated in the KEMAH TRIATHLON - made reservation way in advance. Used Passport Inn as it was the closes hotel to the start line of the triathlon. WHAT A MISTAKE!!!! We had the king suite - where do i begin...the clerk told us that the door was stuck and that we would have to kick it a few times at the bottom to get it to open. As we went up 3 flights of stairs we noticed rotted ceilings, exposed beams, trash. Yes, we had to kick the door and it was evident that many had kicked the door before us as the lower right hand corner was severely bent. Dead and alive crickets all over. coffee pot encrusted with coffee sludge all over. One station on the TV. Three lights did not work. Telephone did not work - guess that kept you from calling the front desk to complain. Even when we called on our cellphone, the clerk would not answer. Dirty toilet with fecal matter on it. Drapes torn and rotted. Sheets not washed with smell of other humans on it!!! . What a total rip off. We could not leave as all hotels in the area were sold out for the Triathlon. The place should be condemned. Plus they jacked the price up for the triathlon - what a total nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn

Address: 601 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Passport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Inn Hotel Kemah
Passport Hotel Kemah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.