We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Passport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Passport Inn to your Saves list
Passport Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great location!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We really wanted an inexpensive choice for just one night at Kema, and this barely passed, but I'm not sure we'd stay again. The bathroom light was out; the shower squealed loudly, the TV volume didn't work, the air conditioner smelled; there were stains on the walls; there was not enough shampoo for all three of us; the guys next door brought hookers to the room after midnight; the bedspreads were old and smelled; the baseboards were dirty; the only table in the room was off balance. All in all, though, clean sheets and a working sink and toilet - plus a coffee machine!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    7
    47
See reviews for
18
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night in June and found the place just great, location was perfect for the boardwalk, we were shown the king room and it was very clean and huge, reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes its not 5star luxury but brillint for the price

Room Tip: Ask to see room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recently stayed one night here . The hotel is in a great location . It is right across from the marina and within easy walking distance from the boardwalk . But the room was very dirty . The towels had hair stuck to them , and the shower had a green mold/ algae growing in it . The desk in the room was also almost broken in two . I could never recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: There is a new Holiday Inn very close . I will try it next time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Website says "Relax by our beautiful deck/pool. THERE IS NO POOL!!! We also had to walk up three flights of stairs. It's kind of tacky, but the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

It's a very good location... It's kinda noisy At night time since it's close 2 the lake, boats & restaurants... Don't expect like 5 star motel... No elevator ... Only stairs... The manager is kind ... They clean our room clean... They r nicely 2 give us extra towels wen we ask 4... It's nice experiment expect the bathroom is small... The shower thing makes noise, & the water kinda make my bf sick ... An only good 4 walking to the downtown 4 the fair over there ...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is horrible. Very long story short. Our room wasn't clean when arriving. After cleaning leftover hygenine was in bathtub men's pubic hairs stuck in towels. Which smelt like vomit. The non smoking room is smoked in by all maintence/maid women. This place is absolutley horrible.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I work in the travel industry, and feel that I've "seen it all"! I read all the "negative" reviews online about this Property and was expecting the worst! I have to say... My experience was NOT so negative. My entire family stayed at this hotel, as we simply needed a 1 night stay in the area before a Cruise.
My brother suggested this property because of its Price and Location. He was Right! The price was Great as well as the Location! There is NO closer Hotel to the Boardwalk, than the Passport Inn. It is literally at the Boardwalk! So close you can walk to the many Restaurants, Bars and Activities that the Boardwalk has to offer! We had 5 rooms and none of them smelled or were dirty. The people at the front desk were fine. Not rude or short in any way. So this stay, met all of our immediate needs.
However, if you are looking for a 5 Star Resort...this hotel is not for you. The pool/deck mentioned, IS a little laughable. You will know what I mean if you see it. It is simply a small above ground pool with a couple of Lounge Chairs. The Breakfast mentioned was just Ok. There was Coffee and Juice, some Bananas and Apples, Cereal. A toaster w/some breads. And a few "Walmart" type snack cakes/muffins. So, its not a 5 star Buffet Breakfast, by no means...but we did not have to shuttle to the cruise hungry. It met our needs.
This property does have 3 floors. Ground Floor being the Parking Lot. I did not see an elevator. So, you must be able to climb some stairs. The 1st floor with rooms, is 1 flight up. So if your disabled and cannot climb stairs, this property may not be for you.
So, you cant believe everything you read. If you need a place to hang your hat without a bunch of "Frills". I would highly recommend this property. Trust me....Ive seen worse!

Room Tip: Request a lower floor. Less stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Passport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn

Address: 601 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Passport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Inn Hotel Kemah
Passport Hotel Kemah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.