We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great service- Best Red beans and rice ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack

Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack
310 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2800
281-334-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 64 restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really great service- Best Red beans and rice ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really liked the food here and as busy as this place was, I loved how great the service was!! I had the red beans and rice and also the fried oysters. Both were fabulous and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    35
    42
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Wonderful place to hang out with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent place to hang out with friends and have a few drinks! The staff is wonderful and have no problems accommodating larger than average groups. The decor, the menu, it all feels kind of like the Louisiana, Alabama type feel to it which is excellent since thats where I grew up. I think the only issue is the atmosphere is very high paced and LOUD. It's nice other than that but saying that, I don't think it would be a good place for YOUNG children. Other than that, it's great and oh not to mention, the Manager is perhaps the nicest person I've ever met in my entire life. Wonderful person and all in all, this is one spectacular restaurant to go to if your in the area! A+ without a doubt in my mind!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“go for the fun and the entertainment not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This can be a great place to hang out with friends. The atmosphere is fun and loud. They have entertainment on the weekends which makes it fun, The staff will accommodate a large group without reservations. They even have live gators or caimans and turtles on site. The issue I have with this place is the food isn't that good. We had smoked oysters for appetizers and they were just ok. They were called the ponchetrain, served with cheese and should have been a little bit spicy but not. Another friend had the fried crabacado and thought is was a real mess. For dinner we had fried oysters since it was a seafood place and they were absolutely terrible. The batter they used on them was gritty and not that nice fried batter consistency. Our friends had fish tacos which were ok but where was the fish. You had to wade through all the lettuce. One person had fried pickles and again with the same gritty cornmeal batter like the oysters. They were not good either plus they were cut so thin you couldn't taste the pickles. A few of our friends had the crawfish since they are in season right now and said they were good. They do have pitchers of beer on draft which was reasonable. They band was great that was playing. The service was very good from the manger, hostess and the wait staff. They were very accommodating. I say go and have beer and appetizers but forget the meal. Not worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Feels like Texas, and by Texas, I mean Louisiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The decor, the menu, the service; it all genuinely feels like Louisiana. In my experience, many restaurants in Houston *want* to emulate Louisiana but few succeed. This place succeeds.

Unlike many of the restaurants in Kemah, which tend to be tourist traps that don't attempt for repeat customers, this place serves great food at a reasonable price. For instance, I had a small feast of 3lbs of crawfish, a dozen oysters, three coronas and the bill came to $35 (plus tip).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good great seafood and steaks lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

First I would like to share the good nature d Mgr, i i was there , this guy walks up on crutches there a wait line to eat i see the mgr come up to the hostess and insist that she find a table for this man with the bum leg mister, mgr i salute you he said even if you have to bump this guy ahead of someone that waited longer that was good will by this mgr that is good business the seafood and steaks are great

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.