We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky bar/restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack

Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack
310 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565
(281) 334-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 65 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Funky bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We wanted a quick snack and a drink so we stopped here. Food (wings) were surprisingly good and the service was very friendly and attentive. It looked like the crawfish were the main attraction here, though we did not have them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a fun place to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Unpretentious, decor is Louisiana fishing shack style. Food is very good and prices are reasonable. The crawfish are the best around, the crab here is great and a better deal than the Kemah Boardwalk next door, and without all the hassle of parking, etc.. Have been here a number of times and never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Casual, reasonably priced, lots of great food and fun people. Great view of the adjacent marina. Cajun delights including alligator and crawfish.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Better than most Boardwalk area restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had the fried alligator on our last visit and it was excellent.
Main courses vary from visit to vist but generally a good quality
restaurant. The outdoor patio & views of marina are very nice.
If you are in Kemah looking for place to eat a good alternative
to eating on Boardwalk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Jump in there and check it out....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A guitarist was playing downstairs and the seats were taken and we headed upstairs to a high top table. The "muddbugs" weren't in season yet, so we had the "smoked" oysters. They were excellent. A pitcher of Abita beer went well with them! Fun place, good view of the sailboats and the amusement park. Enjoyed the Saturday night fireworks, too. Allen was our waiter - I don't think he was the Crazy one - but he was fun and helped us make our night as first time visitors to the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Alan's Swamp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.