We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up for Wine Down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Down Bar & Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wine Down Bar & Bistro
707 Bradford, Kemah, TX 77565
832-236-1948
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 64 Restaurants in Kemah
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clear Lake, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up for Wine Down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of those restaurant/bars that you look at from the outside and wonder about the inside. Take a look inside and discover a cozy little wine bar that serves, not only hundreds of wines, but some good food too. The bartenders know their stuff, also. The brisket, pork and beef mixture for their 'sliders' is good and worth the try. Bring your own booze if you are a 'hard liquor' person, otherwise, only wine and beer is available.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant....we'll go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Four of us (two couples) visited last week for a birthday. We found the decor charming and the service attentive, but not smothering. There are many wines to choose from and our server was able to advise us on some that we might like. We were allowed to taste and then choose the one we each liked.

There are just a few menu items, but they are all wonderful. We ran into friends there who later shared that their meals were alse superb! Although we didn't go there for hamburgers, they are supposedly fantastic.

We liked everything about the place and will definately go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Was hoping it would be good"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was a girls night out but, when we opened the door we were hit with a horrible smell that about knocked us out! But we went in any way. Wine server was nice and very friendly. Wine was over priced per amount of wine they serve. We ordered the cheese tray it was very skimpy for the price. We tried to stay but just couldn't do it. The smell was burning our noses and making us nauseous. Also it was very warm in there No Air. None of us will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it but just did not cut it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ok when we first walked in the place smell musty and mildewed. I know when the place was Madeline's they had trouble with the sewer and looks like it is still not fixed. We sat at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine and a meat and cheese tray. The wiine selection is good but a bit overpriced. The $15 meat and cheese tray was below average. The cheese was cubed in small pieces which is effects the taste of the cheese. The small amount of meat, salami and jamon, was good quality. After the disappointing cheese tray we almost did not order an entree but decided to take a chance. We order the Snapper. The entree was small with just rice and a small amount of fish. No sides are included. The fish had a good texture but was very salty. Over all the place was overpriced for what you get and had a mildew odor. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We wanted to like this place but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went with several lady friends on a Sunday night. The place was pretty much dead, so the woman behind the bar told us we had our choice of seats. The interior is very pretty - the main room is all wood and rich rugs with cloth covered tables. There's a lounge type room in the back with sofas and low tables. To the right is a dining room with wallpaper and some antiques. The menu is short - about 1/2 dozen appetizers and 1/2 dozen entrees. Very nice, comprehensive wine list. The woman behind the bar was our server and she was friendly and accommodating. Most of us ordered the shrimp and linguini, which was so bland it wasn't worth eating - even the shrimp just lay there. The pasta itself was made fresh and was good. We asked for bread and told there wasn't any - even though there were bread plates on the table. So for $18 we got a small bowl of extremely bland pasta and 5 shrimp. One table mate ordered the sausage and peppers linguini and really liked it -she said the spice in the sausage and the peppers made up for the bland sauce. Would I go back? No. Overpriced and less than mediocre food - the serve and decor can't entice me back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Down Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Wine Down Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Down Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.