We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Harris Avenue, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is great. The grill/bar is terrific. The staff is very friendly. The room was comfortable, but the sofa was weird, and I could not figure out how to shift the TV toward the sofa. It is located convenient to so many restaurants/attractions in Kemah, Seabrook, and Clear Lake area. I had to tell front desk staff that I was a Platinum member, and still did not get a free water or snack.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite and for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding room cleanliness.

However, were sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ashley B.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
31
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Got a great deal on rooms so my son and I spent a weekend at the Kemah Boardwalk. This hotel was the perfect place to stay! We were within walking distance of the boardwalk and all the shops and didn't have to worry about the traffic. The room itself was clean, beds were comfy and the staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The manager called the room shortly after we arrived to make sure everything was ok. The TV remote wasn't working and he brought one up to us right away. Every time we walked through the lobby we were greeted by the desk staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kemah. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!
Our goal is to provide with excellent service and pleasant memories; seems like our staff did that for you! When you are in the Kemah area again; stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you!
I remain at your service;
Ashley B.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent 3 weeks in Holiday Inn Kemah while away on business so got to know it pretty well. The hotel itself is lovely and modern, welcoming friendly staff and a good housekeeping service.The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows (soft/ firm) and the blinds were good at keeping out the light. However, it was often VERY NOISY! I am a light sleeper at the best of times but had some difficulty here. Between the busy road, air-con, fridge and bathroom vents there was always some honking, humming or buzzing going on, and then there is T-bone Tom's just across the road. Great place to eat, live music, but no volume control and the windows did not keep out the sound. I could feel the bass pulsing through the building and my head. Not conducive to a good night sleep.

The fridge and microwave are useful but note that there are no kitchen utensils provided. If I wasn't keeping milk, water etc in the fridge I would have unplugged it to stop the noise.

Overall a pleasant stay and was glad to have entertainment nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jema90 ;
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience during your recent stay. I want to assure you our Holiday Inn Kemah is very proud of its level of service; cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our Holiday Inn Kemah and welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. At your convenience; please feel free to call me at 281.334.0003.
I trust we can regain your confidence in our Holiday Inn Kemah!
I remain at your service;
Ashley B.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Stayed in a 2 queen bed room that was handicap accessible with a tub. Only eight rooms in hotel with tubs. Only one with 2 beds. Nice corner room. Restaurant in hotel did not seem equipped to handle many people. Also closed at 1: pm on Saturday and reopened in evening. Waited on patio for service and never saw anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed our location and we truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service.

However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Johanna Rinze-Blissit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for a business meeting I had in Texas City. I arrived and was warmly greeted. I checked-in with no problem. The room was spacious and clean. It was very modern. I had a comfortable night sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is very close to many cafes and restaurants. Great area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest;
We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Once again; thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

At your service;

Johanna Rinze-Blissit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've never reviewed a hotel before but this one was so nice I had to take the time to add a comment. We had to book a room for 1 night before a cruise. The hotel was fabulous, clean and fresh. Walking distance to the boardwalk. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kemah. On behalf of our entire team, I thank you.
Our goal is to provide with excellent service and a hotel that our guests loves! With the many hotels you have to choose from, we are glad you stayed with us. Please come and visit us again when you are in the Kemah area, we want to serve you again.
I remain at your service;
Johanna Rinze-Blissit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nothing lavish, but definitely nice for a Holiday Inn. The short walk to the Boardwalk isn't bad at all. We looked into staying at the hotel on the grounds of the Boardwalk, but think they charge too much and decided that we didn't want to spend the extra money---we'd spend it on other stuff! Clean room, pool, and grounds. Would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kemah. On behalf of our entire team we thank you!

Our goal is to provide with excellent service and pleasant memories; seems like our staff did that for you! When you are in the Kemah area again; stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you!
I remain at your service;

Johanna Rinze-Blissit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Address: 805 Harris Avenue, Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kemah (Near Boardwalk) Hotel Kemah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.