We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Harris Avenue, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very new, very stylish Holiday Inn in a good location.

While most Holiday Inns opt for the more timeless conservative styling, this place attempts to take more risks and be more trendy. It's newly built and looks great by 2013 standards, but it will be interesting to see how the neon blue sinks in the bathroom stand the test of time. However, for now, this place is the swankiest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in. No lie, the rooms honestly feel like they belong in Vegas.

The location is good, but still somewhat of a hike to the boardwalk (about a 10 minute walk). It's still very walkable for most people and more of an inconvenience than anything. However, there are lots of great restaurants and shops in between. Also, it's not far from the Houston Ship Channel, which makes it a great option for business travelers (like me) looking for a fun place to stay while they're on the road.

The service is good, the housekeeping is great. The hotel bar wants to be good, but only attracts middle-aged businessmen. The breakfast (not free, in the same location as the bar) is pretty good but overpriced.

Don't let all my negatives scare you away from this place, it is a great hotel and more nit-picky than anything.

Room Tip: Have dinner at the Swamp Shack (off the boardwalk).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, April 25, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for such great review! We are very proud of our trendy look and we are delighted you agree also!

Our passion for delivering excellent service and superior service is what we like to do, and comments likes yours keep us going for higher marks.

I shared your wonderful comments with our different departments, I thank you on their behalf.

Please come and visit again, we are looking forward to serving you in the near future.

At your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
45
39
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This HI is still fairly new. Located near the Kemah Boardwalk area, there are enough good restaurants in walking distance to keep one well fed. Plenty of small shops, etc. to keep interest level up while taking a stroll. Getting out onto the hwy in the AM was a bit challenging, until I learned to go down a couple of blocks to the light, then no problems. Staff were cheerful, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the restaurant took entirely too long, appeared to be only one wait person. Hotel maybe should think about a buffet arrangement to speed business folks along. Not everyone has an hour or more to linger.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, April 25, 2013
On behalf of our entire team we thank you for your kind and positive comments. It is our passion to deliver excellent service and superior experiences.

I have shared with our Food & Beverage Manager your experience while visiting our Sporting News Grill.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future, thank you for taking the time to write about us!

At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms were outstanding and spacious. We rented two rooms. A hancicapped room for my dad and a two Queen bed room for myself and my husband, and my son and his wife. There is a nice bar area in the room with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Although the coffee maker didn't work right in my dad's room. The service in the restaurant downstairs was adequate, but not outstanding. It was happy hour and we sat ourselves outside. There was no one available to wait on us so I went inside to the bar area. After I ordered our drinks, the waitress showed up. So, maybe she was on break or in the bathroom. My son said the pitcher of beer I ordered for him and his wife was not Buglight so he took it back to the bartender who according to him argued with him. She ultimately replaced the pitcher of beer and he said it was the right brand. The front desk personnel upon check in and check out were very friendly and accommodating. This hotel is in an excellent location, clean and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
On behalf of our Management Company and our entire team, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Comments likes yours keep us aiming for excellence!

I have shared your experience with our Food & Beverage Department and on their behalf I do apologize for the experience.

Looking forward to serving you in the near future;

At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
347 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Kemah two nights during Spring Break. Originally we tried to book the Boardwalk Inn but they nearly doubled their rates during this time so we stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn and am really glad we did. They had a reasonable rate and was still only a 5-10 minute walk to the Kemah Boardwalk and all the rides, restaurants and carnival games.

The hotel had a very new appearance with a big aquarium in the lobby. The rooms were nice and had contemporary, updated décor. The bathrooms were nice (my daughter really liked the electric blue sink and counters) and the shower was especially large.

Overall an updated, extremely clean place that was a short walk from the boardwalk and a 10 minute drive to Johnson Space Center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behal of our entire Team; I thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience during your recent visit to our property. We are glad you enjoyed your visit!

Comments like yours is what makes us work harder and with a great attiude to achieve superior service.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!


At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, clean, roomy, modern rooms. Great helpful staff, no complaints. Very close to boardwalk, can walk if you prefer. Only used room, did not go to on site restaurant or other amenities. Gota great rate, so it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behal of our entire Team; I thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience during your recent visit to our property. We are glad you enjoyed your visit!

Comments like yours is what makes us work harder and with a great attiude to achieve superior service.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend with the kids. Actually still here. Last night had a good time at the bar while the kids played games in the room. Spent the day at the boardwalk and ate at t-bone toms..omg so good! A little annoyed they charged our credit card 50 bucks a night for damage deposit and didnt mention it at check in. Also didnt get clean towels until 3pm. Other than that had a good time..comfy beds , room was big enough and the kids enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Mueller;

Thank you for your recent review and your sentiments about our Hotel, reading your experience is very important for us.

I apologize for the delay with fresh terry, sometimes we do experience problems that make our service get away from Superior Guest Experiences.

I am glad you were able to experience our Sporting News Grill, it's a great place to relax after a long day at the Kemah Boardwalk.

On behalf of our team, I thank you for the review and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATON ROUGE, LA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived on business for a conference, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself looks new and is very clean. The rooms were relatively large with flat screen tv, cable and free wifi. I wouldn't exactly go on my honeymoon there but it was a very nice hotel for a weekend with the family on the boardwalk. I've stayed at the Boardwalk hotel and you could tell it has been there a little while and needs a little attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this review, February 11, 2013
On behal of our entire Team; I thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience during your recent visit to our property. We are glad you enjoyed your visit!

Comments like yours is what makes us work harder and with a great attiude to achieve superior service.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

At your service;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Address: 805 Harris Avenue, Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kemah (Near Boardwalk) Hotel Kemah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.