We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficulty with Larger Parties”
Review of Red Sushi

9 Kemah Waterfront Street, Kemah Boardwalk, Kemah, TX
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 61 restaurants in Kemah
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Most recent review
- Aug 21, 2012
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    4
    8
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Red Sushi
See the most recent reviews
Murray, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Difficulty with Larger Parties”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently visited Red Sushi as part of a pre-wedding dinner with friends and their family. Took around 1-2 hours to be completely seated, which ended up being well after their 9pm closing time. Though their willingness to accommodate our party after hours was appreciated, and the food was delicious, the price ended up a bit too rich for my taste.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We usually avoid the Kemah Boardwalk at all costs due to the traffic and tourists but wanted to use my daughter's 50% discount card. What a mistake! We were there for at least 15 minutes before we got our drinks, then another 30 before we got our appetizers! Don't even get me started on how long it took to get our sushi! How long does it take to make sushi!!!!???? Didn't want to blame the waitress for the food but she never came around to clear plates or get us another round of drinks. We heard the table next to us complaining as well. The Manager came around but really never offered anything but excuses. The ambiance is very nice but sorry, there are too many sushi places to go to for cheaper prices and faster service. Won't ever go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Dessert and a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Even if you are not a sushi lover come in for the bay view and te Mt Fuji chocolate dessert , It was divine!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average sushi, inflated price.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Too expensive, sushi rolls are small and I expected nicer fish selections as an upscale sushi bar. I didn't get it.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is not like other Kemah Boardwalk concepts. It seems to be more mom and pop than corporate efficiency. I liked it. The service was friendly and laid back. I fell in love with Blakely my waitress. She had such a down home quality to her. I was alone and felt out of place, but she was so friendly that I felt at home. The food was ok, ...not the best sushi I have had, but better than most. I think it was called Vegas roll. It was different, but good. Beware of the Saki Bombs, they will sneak up on you. The entrance to the place is a little weird, but don't let that throw you off. It is woth the trip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sushi also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Red Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.