We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert and a View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sushi

Red Sushi
9 Kemah Waterfront Street, Kemah Boardwalk, Kemah, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 64 Restaurants in Kemah
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Dessert and a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Even if you are not a sushi lover come in for the bay view and te Mt Fuji chocolate dessert , It was divine!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average sushi, inflated price.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Too expensive, sushi rolls are small and I expected nicer fish selections as an upscale sushi bar. I didn't get it.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is not like other Kemah Boardwalk concepts. It seems to be more mom and pop than corporate efficiency. I liked it. The service was friendly and laid back. I fell in love with Blakely my waitress. She had such a down home quality to her. I was alone and felt out of place, but she was so friendly that I felt at home. The food was ok, ...not the best sushi I have had, but better than most. I think it was called Vegas roll. It was different, but good. Beware of the Saki Bombs, they will sneak up on you. The entrance to the place is a little weird, but don't let that throw you off. It is woth the trip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I've had better sushi from an all you can eat Chinese buffet.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I LOVE sushi. We make it a point to try any and all new sushi restaurants that pop up in our area. We don't usually think sushi when we're at the Boardwalk, but we decided to try it tonight. Wow! We were sooooo disappointed. First, the previously frozen fish we were served had more personality than our waiter. Then, it took over an hour for us to get 2 rolls (there were no other guests in the restaurant when we got ther, so they weren't busy). When we finally did get our food, we couldn't believe what was set in front of us. The sushi that comes in a clear plastic container at the grocery store is more appealing. It was so awful, we couldn't eat more than one piece. We won't be back!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent place - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Reasonable prices.
Fresh good.
Nice ambiance.
OK Staff.

Will go here again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Red Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.