We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved get-a-way!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Bryan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well deserved get-a-way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel was fantastic, and the room was perfect; it was located right in front of the stage, so we got to see and hear live music each night. It was very relaxing/soothing. This was the best get-away yet. In the future, I will always try to stay on the property. We parked our car on Saturday, and didn't move it until Monday. We were able to walk around, come in to rest, and head back out again. Everyone was very nice and accommodating. I definitely recommend staying at this hotel the next time you visit Kemah. A little pricey, but worth every penny.

The T's

Room Tip: Great hotel, and location. The best for your money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and services, we truely appreciate the feed back and happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful and memorable time with us.
Come back and see us soon!



Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    28
    14
    11
See reviews for
76
91
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

First of all, this is the very first time I have EVER written a review for ANYTHING. We have had wonderful experiences but this one has moved me to want to share...
My husband and I were hoping to make our 30th Wedding Anniversary celebration intimate, relaxing, and special...Boardwalk Inn made it exactly what we had hoped for and so much more!! Samantha was so nice and took wonderful care of us at registration. She noticed it was my Birthday as well and applied a "Birthday Discount" to our room!! What a nice surprise!! With the savings, we had beautiful chocolate covered strawberries delivered and they were waiting for us when we returned from supper. What a treat! Relaxing on our balcony enjoying the evening, a band took the stage and played 70's & 80's covers. It was entirely unexpected and it was such fun!! Sitting there, we thought champagne would be the perfect addition to our strawberries. Within minutes, Samantha personally delivered a perfectly chilled bottle of delicious brut with her heartfelt wishes for us to enjoy a Very Happy 30th Anniversary (and another Happy Birthday wish for me). Samantha is a jewel!! We enjoyed the rest of the concert sitting on our balcony with our champagne and strawberries. It was an amazing evening!!!
Our room was on the 4th Floor. The room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a great view of the Bay. We loved our stay and will definitely return! We highly recommend Boardwalk Inn!!!

Room Tip: View of the Bay seemed best from 4th Floor. "Birthday Discount" on room and free beignets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy you choose the Boardwalk Inn for your celebration, we hope we will be your hotel of choice year after year. Come back and see us soon!


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn-Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Well it's right in the middle of the action and you can even get a room overlooking the band. We love this place although the prices can swing wildly depending on demand. We've stayed for as little as $99, and as high as $249, any higher and we opt for something a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room overlooking the fountain/band area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we certainly agree we are the best location in Kemah and on the Boardwalk! Happy to hear you had a great experience.
Come back and see us soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn-Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channelview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Needed some alone time with just my husband. I looked into some of the nicer hotel resort locations in Galveston but they all required a 2 night stay. The Boardwalk in Kemah did not. We reserved a room for Saturday of that week. We arrived about 2 hours before check in and our room was already available. We got our pass for the reseved parking area and got our luggage and headed upstairs. We went and walked around Kemah. Played a few games, got a snow cone and did the maze ( which was fun but HOT.) So headed back to our room rested up and refreshed for dinner. The hotel called over to the Aquarium to get us on the waiting list. We walked around for about 20 mins then headed to dinner. No waiting what so ever. Very nice! After dinner we went swimming. Meet several nice people at the pool. Will definately keep the Boardwalk Inn in mind for future mommy & daddy get away time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, sounds like you and your husband had a terrific time and had alot of fun during your recent stay.Hope to see you soon , lots of great events during our Fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My 16 year old granddaughter stayed at the inn right on the boardwalk in May of this year. Our double room was extremely expensive, certainly more than what I usually pay for a hotel,i always speak to a manager upon making reservations if I feel price of room is not comparable to other hotels in same area. I usually get a discount of some type by speaking to manager , however I was unable to receive any discount , nevertheless , I agreed to the price , as a special trip with my granddaughter was important to me .I feel our room was not worth what I paid as the bed's were lumpy, the wall's thin, the bathroom could have been cleaner.the room in general had a tired look.On to the positive, the service was excellent ,front desk staff was very helpful, all our requests were met in a timely fashion .in the morning the request for help with a cart and belle service was immediate and friendly . We had a lot of luggage plus what we had purchased on the Boardwalk!,plus I realize dealing with a teen wasn't easy on the staff. We enjoyed the balcony attached to our room in the evening and early morning, the rooftop pool and Jacuzzi were wonderful nice beach towel's were set out at entrance to pool , a very nice touch !

Room Tip: They do have a good quick elevater , therefore I would suggest a room on upper floors for assess to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your grand daughter had a wonderful time and your stay was a memorable one. We hope you will visit again whenever your travels bring you and your family to the Kemah area.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Small very cute hotel. It's right on the boardwalk, shops underneath, live band right outside your room on Friday and Saturday, good music, it was nice to be able to walk to everything. Right next to all the boardwalk restaurants and attractions.

Very expensive for what you get. Rooms nice and clean, but no refrigerator, so taking leftover to your room is out.. Being in the middle of everything is nice, but you get to listen to the train whistle all day. I'm on the fence about the place, the Inn was nice, other than the room not have a fridge or microwave, plus for $750 for two nights you think you'd get more than just two bottles of water a day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property and services, we truely appreciate your business and hope you will consider visiting again in the near future. Regarding the "No frig" in our guest rooms, we are actually looking at adding this to all our guest rooms in the very near future. We do provide the best location on the Boardwalk and feel we have alot to offer to our guests.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn is a great place to stay if you are in South Houston. It is right in the middle of all the action of Kemah, but our room was very quiet. The lobby is relaxing, there are plenty of very nice restaurants in walking distance, and the room was very comfortable. Each room has a balcony that overlooks the boardwalk - it is really too small to be comfortable (and it's way too hot anyway) but we enjoyed standing out on it, looking around, and taking some pictures.

The property is probably 15 or so years old, but we didn't notice any signs of wear. The decor is tasteful and everything smelled clean. There was at least one wedding at the Inn and we didn't even notice. Only negative comment of our one-night-stay is the pool was crowded, even at the 10pm closing time. Lots of kids and they ran out of pool towels. I guess that is to be expected in the summer. We stayed here on a Sunday night. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms face north - we were on the 3rd floor - higher is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, sounds like you and your family have a great time sampling all the fun on the Boardwalk. Come back and see us again soon, lots of great events during our fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.