We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Memories made here ! weekend stay with grandaughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Memories made here ! weekend stay with grandaughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My 16 year old granddaughter stayed at the inn right on the boardwalk in May of this year. Our double room was extremely expensive, certainly more than what I usually pay for a hotel,i always speak to a manager upon making reservations if I feel price of room is not comparable to other hotels in same area. I usually get a discount of some type by speaking to manager , however I was unable to receive any discount , nevertheless , I agreed to the price , as a special trip with my granddaughter was important to me .I feel our room was not worth what I paid as the bed's were lumpy, the wall's thin, the bathroom could have been cleaner.the room in general had a tired look.On to the positive, the service was excellent ,front desk staff was very helpful, all our requests were met in a timely fashion .in the morning the request for help with a cart and belle service was immediate and friendly . We had a lot of luggage plus what we had purchased on the Boardwalk!,plus I realize dealing with a teen wasn't easy on the staff. We enjoyed the balcony attached to our room in the evening and early morning, the rooftop pool and Jacuzzi were wonderful nice beach towel's were set out at entrance to pool , a very nice touch !

Room Tip: They do have a good quick elevater , therefore I would suggest a room on upper floors for assess to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your grand daughter had a wonderful time and your stay was a memorable one. We hope you will visit again whenever your travels bring you and your family to the Kemah area.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    64
    34
    17
    12
See reviews for
87
101
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Small very cute hotel. It's right on the boardwalk, shops underneath, live band right outside your room on Friday and Saturday, good music, it was nice to be able to walk to everything. Right next to all the boardwalk restaurants and attractions.

Very expensive for what you get. Rooms nice and clean, but no refrigerator, so taking leftover to your room is out.. Being in the middle of everything is nice, but you get to listen to the train whistle all day. I'm on the fence about the place, the Inn was nice, other than the room not have a fridge or microwave, plus for $750 for two nights you think you'd get more than just two bottles of water a day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property and services, we truely appreciate your business and hope you will consider visiting again in the near future. Regarding the "No frig" in our guest rooms, we are actually looking at adding this to all our guest rooms in the very near future. We do provide the best location on the Boardwalk and feel we have alot to offer to our guests.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn is a great place to stay if you are in South Houston. It is right in the middle of all the action of Kemah, but our room was very quiet. The lobby is relaxing, there are plenty of very nice restaurants in walking distance, and the room was very comfortable. Each room has a balcony that overlooks the boardwalk - it is really too small to be comfortable (and it's way too hot anyway) but we enjoyed standing out on it, looking around, and taking some pictures.

The property is probably 15 or so years old, but we didn't notice any signs of wear. The decor is tasteful and everything smelled clean. There was at least one wedding at the Inn and we didn't even notice. Only negative comment of our one-night-stay is the pool was crowded, even at the 10pm closing time. Lots of kids and they ran out of pool towels. I guess that is to be expected in the summer. We stayed here on a Sunday night. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms face north - we were on the 3rd floor - higher is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, sounds like you and your family have a great time sampling all the fun on the Boardwalk. Come back and see us again soon, lots of great events during our fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilchrist, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend & I spent the night during the 'Rock the Dock' concert series. It was great to relax on the balcony overlooking the venue!!! Bed was comfortable & bathroom was fine. We were on the floor where the pool was located and there was soggy carpet in the hallway, but it did not affect our stay.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed the Rock The Dock music venue that was performing on the evening you stayed with us! we have made some venue changes this year and happy to hear we are on the right track!
Come back and visit us soon.


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean and pretty comfy. A little too much light coming through the blinds especially in the morning but I covered it up with a blanket. Great food lots of rides games and restaurants! If you play games make sure to bring plenty money it goes quick but the kids had fun! Food was pricey too, but most vacation spots are anyway. The beds were okay not the most comfortable but it was okay. The staff was very nice and helpful! Overall it was fun for the kids! Pool was ver small, didn't spend much time there. Galveston was 30 minutes away and so was Houston, so we did that too. Music was great at night! Balcony was small but had a good view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, sounds like the kids have a terrific time, its always alot of fun here during the summer. Regarding the blinds and "Too Much" light, we agree! The hotel is in the process of retro fitting all our guest rooms with window and balcony door plantation shutters. We have about 50% completed on this project and we hope to have the entire hotel completed by October. We recongnize that this has been a concern with our guests and we have selected some great shutters and hope that this will resolve the "Too Much " light filtering through. Our goal is to provide genuine care and comfort to all our guests and we do take reviews and comments to heart and make every effort to resolve. We hope you will come back soon and hope to hear your feed back on our new window coverings.

Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed one night and had a great time on the boardwalk. Hotel is very nice however the room we were in was directly across from the service area used by housekeeping and room service. It was extremely noisy with staff in out and I was not happy about having to look at the housekeeping carts stationed outside our room ALL DAY. We have not had this experience at any other hotel. We were also awakened at the next morning at 7am by the housekeeping staff starting their day. Nice place to stay but too much to pay for the noise when you are looking to spend a nice, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we apologize for the noise inconvienience during your stay, as you are corect our Housekeeping service area is directly across from the room you stated. None the less it is not an excuse for us to work at finding a method of entry to this area without making undue noise as we recognice this will effect the comfort of our guests in this immediate area.Our Housekeeping Director has made some changes with her staff and methods of entry in and out of this area and we are hopefull that this will minimize the noise. We hope you and your family will allow us another opportunity in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn has these perfect little condos about 4 blocks away from the boardwalk itself. We stayed in a 2 bedroom (3 beds) 2 bath that slept 6 people. It was for the night before my friends wedding since she was getting married in Kemah. The condo was perfect for us girls and gave us plenty of room. Even the couch was comfy enough for someone to sleep on. I think these would be perfect for families and groups who need that little extra space or are staying for a few days. I would recommend car pooling due to them only allowing 2 cars per reservation at the condos. They also gave us a pass for the parking garage since we had another vehicle.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Off-Site condos, we agree they are a great option for families and they are just a few blocks away , but close enough to walk to our property. We are so thrilled you and your family experienced these accomodations.
Come back and visit us soon.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.