We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salado, Texas
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend after disembarking fromthe Princess Cruise a few miles up the road. I had been to Kemah before but had not stayed here and my husband (who had never visited Kemah) booked us a room here and I loved it! It is so tastefully appointed and it induces relaxation. From our balcony on the 4th floor we could see the cruise ship leave again that evening and we listened to the live music and dancing water fountains and sailboats go by in the channel. Check in was a breeze since we park on the 2nd floor of the parking garage (free parking when you are staying at the Inn) and check in as you walk in. The room and bathroom was HUGE and the bed and pillow were so comfortable. The bed had a pillow top mattress as well as a mattress pad. This is such a charming place and we want to return this summer and bring our kids to experience Kemah! We will definitley be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for discovering our Hotel! So great to hear you had a great time. Our Hotel is a great start or end to a cruise, just a few minutes from Bay Port Cruise Terminal makes us a perfect hotel for your trip plans and we are happy you included us.
Come back and see us again when ever your travels bring you to Kemah.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    64
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
101
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect place to watch the Boat Light Parade - it was cold and windy outside and we were able to view from the comfort of our balcony / room. Rooms were comfortable; hubby liked the pillows. Amenities in room were nice; front desk at check-in was knowledgeable and helpful for choosing breakfast next morning.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Boardwalk; there is some noise but it dies down very quickly. Landry members...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We agree we are the best venue on the Boardwalk to view the annual Boat Parade, so glad you enjoyed and the weather was cold that evening but held up well for all to enjoy. Come back and see us again December 2014 for the Boat parade, fun for the entire family! But don't wait till December to visit again, we lots of fun events scheduled year round.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here on December 29th, for one night and it was very cute! Just such a nice and awesome place.

The best parts were checking in there was a group of ladies that help me with any questions I had and made the check in very comfortable and easy. I did buy a room with tickets for all day ride passes that was nice. A person from the hotel earlier did call me to ask what time I will be arriving so they will make my room by then, check in is 4pm but they normally call I am told so that they can accommodate traveling, which they did I arrive earlier than 4pm and my room was already ready to go into. The place was very cute and quiet super quiet.

The only thing I can say that is a little bad is that they don't let food from outside places into their hotel, I never had someone stop me though and ask but I didn't want to chance it. And it's bad because all the restaurants around Kemah Boardwalk normally close at 9pm or 10pm, so if you do get hungry late at night then you won't be able to bring food in. Didn't bother me that much but it's a nice thing to know.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are nice if you want to see the bands perform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. So great to hear you have discovered our hotel and the wonderful atmosphere & restaurants which are just steps away from our hotel.
Come back and see us again whenever your travels bring you to Kemah, lots of great events in store throughout the year.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I recently booked a one night stay-cation at the Boardwalk Inn in Kemah for our anniversary, having seen it from the outside for years. Wow were we surprised! From the moment we arrived, we were treated wonderfully by the staff! The accommodations were fabulous and above and beyond what I expected. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice romantic getaway, or a little family fun time!

Room Tip: Do be forewarned that the Boardwalk stays open until 11 on weekends and you can here the train and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Happy Anniversary & Thank you for your recent review of our property, we are thrilled you choose us for your special getaway! Come back and visit us again in 2014.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn for 2 days this week with our children aged 7 and 3 and we enjoyed it so much that we are planning to return during the summer. They have excellent customer service, probably the best we've experienced in a long time and the manager in particular was wonderful! The location is terrific, it is right in the middle of all the action and we didn't have to go far to keep the children entertained. Granted the room probably will need updating in the near future but it was comfortable and clean, the heater was very noisy but we had it turned off almost the entire time we were there because we didn't need it. The noise at night was not intolerable because it does die down after a certain time and my children who are very light sleepers did not seem to have any issues with that. Overall, we had a wonderful time, between the location of the hotel, the view from the room and the wonderful staff, we have decided that we will try and come back again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
On behalf of our entire Boardwalk Inn team, we thank you for your wonderful comments. We strive for excellence in our product and our customer service everyday and we are thrilled that we met you and your families expectations.
Happy to hear you will visit us again next year! Lots of great events in 2014.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our company had our annual Christmas Party at the Kemah Boardwalk and providing rooms to all of our guest. Their were about 37 of us. The team at The Boardwalk Inn did a great job. Everything was prepared the way they had promised and all had such a great time.

Thanks again to the team at the Boardwalk Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, we certainly appreciate your companies business during the holidays and we are delighted you choose our hotel to host your attendees during your holiday event here on the Boardwalk. We hope to see you again next year!

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The decor reminded me of a Disney hotel, with large rooms, nicely decorated in a beach motif with crown moldings, and roomy balconies facing the plaza and water. The bathroom was large with better than average towels and sundries. Problems were a very noisy heater (sounds like a plane overhead), and noise from the bars and restaurants located on the boardwalk. We were there on a quiet night with no outdoor activities yet we were able to hear every conversation below (we were on the fourth floor). Can't imagine what it would be like in summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we certainly appreciate the feed back and will address the noise issue with our units in each guest room. We want to insure our guests are getting the quiet and comfort in each of our rooms during their visit.
Come back and visit soon.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.