We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice But Very Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
553 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Very Nice But Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been wanting to stay at The boardwalk Inn for a few years but they were always booked up, its a somewhat small hotel and it books up rather quickly. Well we finally made it in and had a great time but man it it expensive. I guess its "supply and demand" but even though the hotel is nice and the location is great its still overpriced. Now with tha being said its my only complaint...the staff was attentive and helpful with dinner reseervations (the hotel owner also owns all the restraunts in the boardwalk, LOL)
The rooms over look the bay or the plaza either which is fine. I was pleasantly suprised to see they had a small pool...that was nice to get away and relax from the boardwalk crowds but honestly if it didnt have a pool there is so much to do I doubt you would even miss it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property, wonderful to hear that you got to stay with us after trying to book for a while. Because of our size and location our hotel does stay sold out on most weekends and on most special events throughout the year. We happy you experienced our hotel, staff and the array of restaurants located just steps away.
Come back and see us soon!

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at Boardwalk for the Blessing of the Fleet. Enjoyed the stay. We had a baby with us and still could enjoy the view and festivities from the private balcony when necessary. Live music and great atmosphere during our stay. Hotel clean and accommodating.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0245Lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel, great to hear you attended the Blessing of the Fleet festivities. Our Hotel and staff continuously strives to exceed our guest expectations, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Come back and see us soon, lots of fun events coming up.

Best Regards,


Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to be selected as Guests of the day. We were greeted by the General Manager Daliah Pena she was welcomed us and thanked us for choosing the Boardwalk. Everyone at the hotel was friendly. We will definitely be back. Thank you, Tina Hare for your help during our stay.

Frank & Melissa

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunVia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff, it was great having you as our Guest of the Day and we truly hope you enjoyed your day and had fun on the Boardwalk.

Come back and see us soon!


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is nothing negative to say. The rooms were clean. The staff was above and beyond accommodating. We went 'rock week' and enjoyed the concerts from our balconey and down on the grounds. Enjoyed having the staff reserve restaurants for us. No matter the question or idea, they had an answer or found someone who did have the answer. Anytime we needed something delivered to our room, they were there instantaneously. They were booked so we changed from single to double room mid-stay and they moved everything for us, including the refrigerator. The courteous of the staff impressed me and my three sons - great job you guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and our entire hotel staff, our goal is to make your stay a memorable and comfortable stay and mixed with a little fun! We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Come back and see us soon.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had really good deal on unit for some reason, so took it over "name brand" hotels in area. Had surprise bonus when they gave me discount for my birthday. (Unprovoked) Older hotel, but in pretty good condition and with wonderful staff. No restaurant (or breakfast) and obviously not even coffee in lobby. (No bar either, but there are numerous places to imbibe within 1/2 mile. Overall pleasant experience which is far different than normal business travel. Rooms are very light, in fact too much so. Sunlight jumps into the room.Very poor darkening. Also no fitness center which is a little unusual in today's world

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for you great review, we have many great restaurants just walking distance from our main entrance of the hotel and in very close proximity, great to hear you visited some of our food outlets. Our hotel also has a small and quaint grill next door that provides some breakfast selections, coffees, and sandwiches.
We thank you for your comments and will review with our management team.
Come back and see us soon!

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My nephews (ages 10 and 7) stayed at the Boardwalk Inn, Kemah, Texas recently for one night/two days. It was an awesome trip. The staff at the inn were aware of my nephews recent trials, and made our stay so wonderful. We didn't walk in the lobby without somebody stopping and asking us/them about our trip so far. The staff were so sweet to my nephews. I am very thankful that I chose the BoardWalk Inn, Kemah, for our last "who rah" before school started.

To Boardwalk Inn staff: (you know who you are) THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

May God bless your compassion and concern regarding my nephews. You all are absolutely wonderful.

Diane Parrett
Orange, Texas 77632

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our goal is to make your stay a memorable one and its great to hear that our staff extended our exceptional hospitality in your most recent stay.
Come back and see us soon!

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosharon, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our 10th anniversary was interrupted by our vehicle breaking down in the parking near the hotel. I was clueless who to call to tow and repair it. The front desk ladies (Brittany and Tina) were awesome and found the services I needed to take care of it. The bellman (Richard) hauled all our belongings across and up to the room to make sure my wife was comfortable. All the extras I requested were ready and they allowed us to check in a bit sooner than expected. The service here is impeccable and all employees are friendly and gracious. We look forward to going back soon. I cannot thank them enough for all the assistance given to make the best of an unexpected situation.

Room Tip: All the 3rd and 4th floor rooms have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBill1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
On behalf of myself and our entire team, we thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate the recognition and hope that you and your family will make the Boardwalk Inn an annual tradition for your anniversary. Our dedicated staff is here to make your stay a memorable one and its great to hear we accomplished this on your most recent stay. We will celebrate Tina, Brittany and Richard for their leadership in customer service!


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
1.0 mi away
Palace Inn Kemah
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing