We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we live here?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can we live here?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were not disappointed with our stay at this lovely hotel. From the booking to the end of our trip, this "Inn" is simply excellent. Tina was amazing. She was accommodating and her quiet calm made our experience wonderful.

To sum it up, from the words of my 8 yr old son:

Son to mom: "Can we live here?"

Room Tip: Every room I imagine would give you a wonderful view of the area, whether you prefer a bay view or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! My staff is outstanding and your kind words on our star employee Tina will be shared with all. Our focus is to make our guests feel they are at home when they stay with us, sounds like we accomplished this with you and especially your family.
Come back and see us again soon, lots of great events in 2013


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn-Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    64
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
101
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked a two-night stay in their Corporate Condominums this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff at the Boardwalk Inn is magnificent! Each of the folks we dealt with were so pleasant and nice and went out of their way to accommodate us. The condominium was nice but needed a little, minor TLC to bring it up to par. (We will be writing them directly to let them know of a few maintenance things we observed; but there was nothing major involved.) We were very happy with our decision to stay there. All-in-all, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable weekend in Kemah.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Staff and our off-site condos. Please feel free to reach out to me regarding some of those TLC items you spoke about, we will certainly insure that we focus on the highest degree of cleanliness and that all is working properly for our guests.
Lots of great events coming up soon, hope you visit soon.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Kemah Boardwalk Inn while attending a wedding on the boardwalk. There were several extended family members staying there. What I liked most about it was all the beautiful sitting areas throughout the hotel, and on all levels. It made it very easy and comfortable to visit with family without having to go to someone's room or out to a restaurant. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. The rooms and common areas were immaculate. It was a little pricier than we like to spend but well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, what a great way to spend time with family and enjoy friends while attending a wedding. We hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you to Kemah.
Lots of fun events in 2013.

Hope you will visit us again in 2013.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in a room overlooking the Kemah Boardwalk, it was King Room with a balcony. It was very nice and quite charming. I did not expect it be decorated as nice as it was. The bathroom was very large and tub/shower too! It was convenient to the restaurant, shops and the actual boardwalk. So park on 2nd floor tell the attendant your a guest so you save the $8 park fee and walk right into the lobby. We paid for a regular kind and luckily upgraded to boardwalk balcony view room and the Chrsstmas decorations were outstanding...be back this summer for sure.

Room Tip: Request corner room with balcony well worth it for the view. o room service or fitness center, okay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It's always great to sample some of the surrounding amenities, such as the restaurants, shops and amusements, sounds like you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer.
We hope you will visit us again in 2013, many great events scheduled throughout the year.

Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated New Year's Eve here and had a blast. Our package included our unlimited ride bracelets which made it a little easier to pay the price they wanted for the stay. It is a bit overpriced, but the location is spot on with great views. Also, I appreciate the staff turning a blind eye when my sister and I ignored the pool and hot tub ( Located on the roof) closing times and continued to celebrate New Year's Eve all night long after getting the kids to bed. This is a very laid back place and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank for taking the time to review our Hotel, sounds like you and your family enjoyed the New Year's Eve festivities last year and the amusements on the Boardwalk. We certainly hope you will return soon. Our Pool hours are from 7am to 11pm, seven days a week, year round.

Come back and see us soon,

Best Regards,


Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want to be right on the Kemah Boardwalk without having to drive back and forth, this place is the perfect spot. We stayed in the Presidential Suite for a reasonable rate the day before Thanksgiving and it could not have been a nicer room or a more enjoyable experience. It's also nice to be able to see all the folks walk by to the many restaurants and rides and enjoy the beautiful lights at night. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Pick a Bayview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for you wonderful review. We are delighted you choose our hotel during the Thanksgiving week Holiday. Our Presidential suite along with three other suites are about to get a wonderful renovation shortly, a beautiful scheme will be installed and hope to have them ready in the next 60-90 days. We hope you will come back and stay in one of our suites when your travels bring you to Kemah.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn during October. Reception staff are very helpful, polite and well organised. The rooms are large, very clean and functional; similar in style to a large corporate hotel chain. They do not provide a cosy or boutique feel but if you are looking for somewhere to sleep then they do the job. The hotel pool is small but clean and sun loungers with clean towels are provided.

The hotel is situated in the middle of the Boardwalk which provides the attractions of a small-scale entertainment park; miniature train, various funfair rides and a roller-coaster. There are a large number of bars and restaurants offering a range of cuisine at various prices.

There is an entertainment stage outside the hotel on which live bands, etc. perform during the season. This continues until around 10pm and does generate significant noise which is clearly audible in the hotel guest rooms.

Overall, a good value hotel located in the heart of the Boardwalk resort area.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms that face out onto the Boardwalk. In season there is a lot of noise gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for visiting our Hotel and The Kemah Boardwalk. Our Hotel is definitely unique, surrounded by an array of restaurants, retail, amusements and entertainment on our plaza stage area on weekends, we are happy you sampled some of our amenities around our hotel.
Your business is much appreciated, hope you will visit us soon.


Best Regards,

Dalia Pena- General Manager- Boardwalk Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront, Kemah, TX 77565
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.