We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable but not inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luby's Cafeteria

Luby's Cafeteria
485 S Mason Rd, Katy, TX 77450-2435
281-492-2016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 414 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reliable but not inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The "old" Luby's was a place you could take your family on a night you didn't have time to make dinner and not spend a small fortune. While the food is still good and perhaps cooked in a bit more healthy manner - it's gotten expensive. AND they have added huge flatscreen TV's. It's gotten so one cannot dine out without being assaulted by screens at all angles showing different channels of programming that cause indigestion at best. When we have the choice to eat Indian, Chinese, Japanese or Mediterranean food for less and often without the hassle of dodging TV's we choose something other than Luby's. I must say, however, the meatloaf and fried chicken are tasty and I don't have the grease and smell of "fried" in my kitchen when we choose Luby's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

a chain nothing special but seems consistant the issues with this restaurant you must no what you want cause they got it all

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“not bad--good quick food but abit pricier than it should be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

not bad--good quick food but abit pricier than it should be. Prices would be reasonable for a sit-down restauarnt but seem abit high for a cafeteria with high volume. Lots of choices. tasty, near I-10

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have been going to Luby's for 40 years now. It was a staple for our family - but I MISS the old Luby's and think they need to bring it back. The new overpriced specials aren't what fits into someone looking for casual comfort food that should be somewhat better choices than fried foods.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly People, consistent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nothing fantastic, but very reliable cafeteria food. Good service and good value.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luby's Cafeteria also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Luby's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luby's Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.