We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is called Jarrito because you should order by the pitcher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Jarrito Restaurant

El Jarrito Restaurant
870 S Mason Rd, Katy, TX 77450
(281) 392-7277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 383 Restaurants in Katy
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It is called Jarrito because you should order by the pitcher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

They know me so well that I always have a pitcher of ritas on the rocks at my table just after sitting down. The food is great Tex-Mex. They don't overuse ingredients and muddle the flavors. Carne Asada steak is tender, simple and great. Same can be said for the Pollo Abuelita plate of 2 chicken breasts over onions on a comal with tomatos on top.

If you want maximum flavor, try the chicken tortilla soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We eat here about once per week. We love El Jarrito. Our son can play in the sandbox while we sit on the outdoor patio. It is very secure so there is no chance of him wandering away while we can't see him. The food is consistently excellent and very fast. The tableside guacamole preparation is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A pleasant surprise to find El Jarrito Restaurant in Katy. Since that discovery a few weeks ago, have returned and the experience was just as pleasant the second time around. Consistency is important. The service was prompt and efficient. The server was attentive and helpful. The pricing was good. The atmosphere very pleasant with nice aroma of cooking food that entices you to enter the restaurant. The table side guacamole preparation was nice to see and taste. It was a good portion and very well served.
I have been back once, and will surely return in the foreseeable future.
Ample parking as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is the best fajitas in Katy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

All their food is good but the fajitas are the best. I love the beans they bring with the chips and salsa. Good beer selection and good margaritas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Twice a week at least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The margaritas are great! The servers are friendly and attentive, and take care of special requests. Salad, chips, salsa, enchiladas, tacos, chiles rellenos - everything is delicious. The decor is outlandish and fun whether inside or on the patio, and the food comes out hot and quick.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jarrito Restaurant also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Jarrito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jarrito Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.