We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babin's Seafood House

Babin's Seafood House
21851 Katy Fwy, Katy, TX 77450-1807
281-829-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 414 Restaurants in Katy
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here for birthday celebration. Place was crowed, but service was excellent - friendly, attentive. Food was excellent. Really liked the craw fish. All ate way too much of it. Place reminded us of New Orleans in atmosphere and food. Plan to go back in August for another birthday

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great First Time ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Food was great tasting, hot, and fresh. Waitress was excellent and well informed about the menu. We even had a visitation from the manager.
Babin's is now on our list of favorite restaurants.
Thank you for the great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great cajun food if you are in the mood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Recently went to lunch on a Saturday as I was craving some cajun fair. We ordered the Baja Fish tacos, which were nicely plated and the shrimp were cooked just right. They were so juicy the doubled up corn tortilla's couldn't hold up. They were fresh tasting with just the right amount of cole slaw to corn ratio. Also ordered the fried seafood plate and the portions were just perfect for a lunch fair. The catfish, shrimp, and crab were all cooked perfectly as some places tend to overcook the meat. We also enjoyed that it was lightly seasoned so it had a little bit of spice, but not overwhelmingly so. We even splurged and tried the strawberry shortcake. Other than they burned parts of the shortbread, to heat it up, it was very delicious. We cut around the 2 burned corners. Our waiter was on top of things. Our drinks stayed filled and he was very prompt with our requests and getting our order filled.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First place for seafood after an extended international vacation.

Creole gumbo was some of the best in Houston.

Calamari and crab cakes were pretty good as well.

The fried shrimp were OK but I have had better.

We got the about 9 (closing time was 10 and at ten we were finished eating and they offered desert to go which I thought was a bit out of character for a nice restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“best Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As the billboard states, "Couldn't be fresher, if you caught it yourself".....this is true for Babin's Seafood Restaurant......the New Orleans atmosphere just right here in Katy, Texas...aren't we lucky? Delicious fresh seafood with reasonable prices........Watch out if you order the bread pudding......better have several people and many spoons, servings are so generous!! The best food and highly recommended......

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babin's Seafood House also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Babin's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babin's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.