We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuy's Restaurant

Chuy's Restaurant
21300 Katy Fwy, Katy, TX 77449-7772
832-772-1277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 383 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Among our group, 2 persond felt there food was too spicey. The waiter immedaitely went ahead and reoredered the food without any questions. 2 managers came and apologized for this. Very impressed with the attitude and service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service gets worse every time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place opened up sometime last year, I guess. We've been maybe 8 - 10 times. The service continually gets worse. The last time we went, this week, we didn't even see our server until we'd been seated for 15 minutes. Every server / manager around us seemed to be trying to locate the appropriate person but it took ten minutes just for the manager to get a drink order. They've forgotten to bring one person's food out before, we found a chicken bone in our food once, and there was the time that they remade a coworker's plate three times only to realize it was made right all three times. When she brought the food out, he asked "is this the hatch sauce?" to confirm that it was the right sauce on it because he had never had it before, the waitress didn't know enough to say "yes, that's the hatch sauce we discussed" and instead said "oh, I'll get that fixed". When it came back with the exact same sauce, he was even more confused and asked what was going on, she acted exasperated and took the food back to be re-made and then brought out the same plate. <sigh> At least the food is good. The burritos are good. LOVE the creamy jalapeno sauce.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very loud but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went here for lunch and ordered the #8 Lite Plate. It took WAY to long to get our food but this is one of my favorite restaurants so I was willing to put up with it. As with every Chuy's I have been to, this one was also extremely loud. None the less this is still somewhere I would return. The food is always great. Also the creamy jalapeno dip is superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best tex mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This place beats the pants off of much more expensive attempts at great Tex Mex. it's the best I have ever had! I got the enchiladas in a creamy jalapeño sauce. They were hot, but I Love spice! They were so flavorful, and grandiose in proportion as well. Fun atmosphere too! Also, they sell shirts for you collecting travelers out there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were really excited to finally get a Chuy's in our areas since we went to college in Austin and were regular's at the original Chuy's there. We went to the Katy location shortly after it opened and were very, very disappointed...but we chalked that experience up to growing pains in a new place, waited a few months and tried again. Sadly, the food and service had not improved. All three dishes were served lukewarm and the flavors were very bland. Service was ok. Not a bad place, but not a great one, either. It's a shame.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's Restaurant also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chuy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.