We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but a challenge to order” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant

Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant
703 W Grand Parkway South, Katy, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 383 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is the restaurants newest location to the Katy, TX area and it is FANTASTIC! Much improved compared to other locations I have visited and deserves a shout out on TA! Please add so others may review!
Polk City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food but a challenge to order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited Lupe Tortilla and found the food slightly above average. However, our server spoke little English which made it a challenge. Even after explaining what we wanted he still got it wrong.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Tex-Mex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Another solid and consistent place in Houston for Tex-Mex is Lupe Tortilla's. Most of the dishes appear to be beef or chicken. Lots of good drinks available too.

Can be loud at times, but good for families.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not like the Lupe Tex Mex Chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Lupe Tortilla in Katy is not like the chain Lupe's elsewhere around H-town. The menu is completely different as is the environment. The Katy location offers more options and takes more time to hand prepare all dishes, rather than just heat them up when ordered. There is even a sign at the front that informs guests that it is not a quickie food place.

Try it - you will love it! The enchiladas are authentic, the tortillas fresh and all the fajitas are good. They serve a charro bean dip that is to die for. My personal favorite is the fish tacos, but I have never had a meal that wasn't excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in Houston/Katy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lupe Tortilla's is our favorite Tex-Mex restaurant and we always try to eat there when we come to the Houston area. This was our first visit to the Grand Parkway location. It didn't disappoint. We had carne asada and a beef fajita wrap. Both were great. The meat was very tender. They use lime in their marinade, which we really like. Homemade tortillas. Great salsa. Other favorites of ours are the stuffed poblano chicken, shrimp lupe, and the guacamole.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Katy, TX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lupe's provides very good Mexican food at reasonable prices. The only drawback is that there's typically a somewhat lengthy wait for a table. But that's simply a reflection of the popularity of the restaurant and it's food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.