We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican in a great location but slow kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant

Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant
703 W Grand Parkway South, Katy, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 414 Restaurants in Katy
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is the restaurants newest location to the Katy, TX area and it is FANTASTIC! Much improved compared to other locations I have visited and deserves a shout out on TA! Please add so others may review!
Manchester, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in a great location but slow kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The restaurant has amazing food. I can't say it is exactly like food in Mexico, but it was great for American Mexican. The salsas brought out before the meal are fresh and outstanding in flavor. I had the fajitas which were the best I've had anywhere. The place is a very popular spot for locals and visitors so it will get very busy. You may have to wait for your table and your food may take a while. The table service was fantastic. I ate alone as this was a business trip. My waiter made sure I had everything I needed. It looks like the bar here is excellent for happy hour. Good food, drinks and patrons from what I could see. Lots of happy people!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a superb meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went in on a Friday afternoon and found the place buzzing. Easy access to highway from several angles. There were 4 of us and the service was excellent. Good price for the proportions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmm... fajitas.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

They have some sort of lime marinade for their fajitas, and I love it. I've heard others complain that it's not their thing, but it's at least worth a try. LOOOOVE their charro beans that they bring out with the chips and salsa. Addictive. Highly addictive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I get better customer service at taco bell.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We waited twice as long as we were told. Then sat down for 20 mins w out chips or water. Then watched as a woman said to her waiter...sir smell this, were not eating this please send it back. waiter smelled the dish and agreed...No bueno.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Frequent patron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Consistent quality, clean, service is usually good
Charro Beans are to die for - could make a meal out of those alone
Fajitas, pepper shrimps, carne asada are all good

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupe Tortilla Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.