We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strip Mall restaurant not to miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonia's Restaurant

Antonia's Restaurant
2001 Katy Mills Blvd Suite A, Katy, TX 77494
281-644-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 414 Restaurants in Katy
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Denver, CO USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A strip Mall restaurant not to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was traveling alone on a recent trip and decided (based on trip advisor reviews) to give this restaurant a try. I am so glad I did. When I first walked in the door I started to feel a little ill at ease being a single diner. The wait staff made me feel welcome from the time I sat down until I left. At the front door there was a "chalkboard" with the special of the day. The server told me what the special was and it was different than what I saw outside. He explained that the special on the board was the lunch special and they had failed to change it for dinner. I was dissappinted that the special was no longer available and he did not hesitate to ask the Chef if he would prepare me that special for me. It was wonderful!

The staff somehow made me comfortable in what for me was an uncomfortable situation.

The wine list was extensive but I elected for a glass of the house Chianti. It was very good and complimented my meal well. The cannoli for dessert was heavenly! They are made in-house.

It was a delightful conculsion to a day of traveling. Nothing like a nice glass of wine, a good meal and a wonderful dessert to finish off a tough day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let strip center location turn you away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the REAL deal!! Fabulous food, wonderful atmosphere, excellent service and a wine list to please everyone!! The food at Antonia's is so fresh and tasty ... I have never had anything that wasn't top notch. You really can't go wrong. Their everyday selections are like the Italian Mammas make back in Italy. And the SPECIALS!!!!!! There is a reason they call them specials!! You will think you have died and gone to heaven!!! They have 3 locations, Katy, Cypress and Sugar Land so go often so you can try it all. If you like them on Facebook they will let you know when your favorite special is being served!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not so Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dinner with family was not up to any standard. My parm was 2 very thin pieces of meat covered with a piece of cheese. Since it was so thin the meat was hard and crusty and the pasta was cold. I think my parm plate sat under the warming lights too long and then they added the pasta. We were really hoping the restaurant would be good to average as Katy needs more restaurants but my dinner was sub par to even the chain Italian ones.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The bread, oh the bread! And the salads are huge and amazing. Ordered just meatballs and they were amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Place is nicely decorated, service is very attentive and food is just delicious. I had an excellent ossobuco when I went there...Probably one of the best so far.
Despite the fact that it is a bit far from Houston, one should plan on paying the place a visit if doing something in the Katy area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonia's Restaurant also viewed

Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Antonia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonia's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.