We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home country breakfast'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lonesome Spur

Lonesome Spur
218 S Hwy 156, Justin, TX 76247
940.648.2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Justin
Restaurant details
Justin, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Down home country breakfast'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lots of places serve food, Lonesome Spur serves BREAKFAST! It fills the plate and the belly! It's just good down home good stuff!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Come on Down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Extremely interesting place in an equally interesting town. I think the building used to be a new car dealership. Just a simple trip to the restroom is interesting.
But the food, everyone at our table had the Chicken Fried Steak or the Chicken Fried Chicken. With one exception, everyone was delighted with the meal. One of the party was a little disappointed with his Chicken Fried Steak, thought it was a little tough.
But all in all, the French fries, white cream gravy, etc, etc. was great.
Our staff was excellent. It was a pleasure to dine here.
The little city of Justin is a little out of the way, but to me it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“If you are nearby, this place is worth the drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Operating in a building that looks like it might have been a repair shop or gas station, this place is fun and the food superior to the normal mom and pop place. We did breakfast here and drove a fair distance to check it out after a desk clerk's suggestion. Besides, the town is fun with antique shops etc. not to mention lots of outlets for the notorious JUSTIN BOOTS!! The Texas Motor Speedway is just south and the huge Robson Ranch development is to the north.
Lots of hustle and bustle here and DO NOT expect to be immersed into the "white linen and fine wine culture". Your food will not be served on china nor in crystal. Laid back, good food is served here (and lots of it with big portion sizes) and laid back folk work here as well as eat here.
Service is brisk but caring. Food is hot and all we had was good. Some unusual dishes with a Mexican flair tempted us but we resisted. We observed such on a nearby table and wished we lived near here because we surely would go back. The basics are there too...eggs, bacon, thick waffles and such.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home cooking with some unique dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I tried the fried BLT which is awesome! Bacon is battered like chicken fry. It was light and crisp.
Onion rings are fresh cut and hand battered and really good!
You must try this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food at the Lonesome Spur never disappoints. The portions are BIG and the prices are VERY reasonable. All the waitresses and staff are very friendly and attentive. Very good selections on the weekday breakfast and lunch specials. Great value!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonesome Spur also viewed

 

Been to Lonesome Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonesome Spur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.