We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecue so tough and dry that even the flavorless watery sauce couldn't make it go down easy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's BBQ

Cooper's BBQ
2423 North Main street, Junction, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Junction
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: On Hwy 83 near the junciton of I-10
Restaurant details
Description: On Hwy 83 near the junciton of I-10
1 review
“Barbecue so tough and dry that even the flavorless watery sauce couldn't make it go down easy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have had BBQ from all over the state of Texas, and Cooper's takes the award for the worst I have ever tasted. The brisket was tough and dry and the sausage was cold. The sauce tasted like warm watery ketchup with vinegar. The coleslaw and beans were mediocre at best. All of this put me back $17.00. At least the tea was wet. I'll never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    25
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
1 review
“Road kill is probably tastier and more tender...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Over-cooked and over-priced! The only thing this place has going for it is location. Save some money and get some much better BBQ by going to Lum's...two minutes away at 2031 Main St.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good meat, below average sauce, average place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Cooper's must rely on it's great location (right across the street from McDonald's) for new customers. It is set up cafeteria style. We had the turkey, cold slaw, and beans. (You can get potato salad instead of cold slaw) and blackberry cobbler. Our food was fine. But Cooper's has the only bar-b-que sauce in Texas that is thin, faintly vinegary and fairly tasteless. The meat is cooked to perfection, but don't expect anything from the sauce; however, they bottle it and sell it, so someone must like it.

The decor is kind of lodge meets ranch. The place is filled with trophy heads: deer, moose, wild pig, elk, raccoons, etc. I admit this is a novelty and will be of interest to some. There is also an outdoor playground for the kids. In nice weather, there is a picnic table under the old oak in the back. I think we will try Lum's next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First time here and not impressed at all. I thought it was overpriced and didn't even taste good. Not many choices for side items either. I had the brisket, sausage, beans and potato salad. The bbq sauce wasn't any better. I would skip it altogether and find somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Rest Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On our way to West Texas last weekend we stopped at Cooper's for a pit stop and lunch. Clean restrooms and good food. Lots for old memorabilia on the walls. Celebratory pictures as well. Two sliced brisket sandwiches, two beans, one potato salad, water, and tea was $20.99. Lots of other varieties of BBQ available. On our way back home 3 days later we stopped in again. Mark Cooper remembered us from our previous visit. Asked us about our trip. It is about a 4 hour drive from our home. We usually stop there once or twice a year when we go to Colorado. We have been doing this for several years. Have not had a bad experience yet. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.