We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is that sauce?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's BBQ

Cooper's BBQ
2423 North Main street, Junction, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 restaurants in Junction
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: On Hwy 83 near the junciton of I-10
Restaurant details
Description: On Hwy 83 near the junciton of I-10
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What is that sauce?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Like watered down vinegar? With red food dye in it? YUK!

Brisket was dry and tough. Sausage was good. Over priced.
Won't go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

32% Recommend
    12
    10
    16
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm going to take my own advice and not tell you how average the food is nor how poorly they treat their customers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lukewarm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Paid $32 for 2 people, portions were small, food was lukewarm, chicken was dry. I've been to 2 other Cooper's in Mason and Llano, this is #3 on my list.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“LUM's destroyed Cooper's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've been driving through Junction every so often and when I do I stop at Lums BBQ for whatever suited by fancy.

A few days ago I thought I should did a side by side sliced brisket sandwich comparison between Cooper's (which I never had been to) and Lum's. I just wanted to see how they matched up.

Coopers flavor was similar to a charcoal grilled hamburger like from Burger King. Not horrible just not expected. It wasn't particularly moist and parts were tough like it wasn't smoked for hours, very strange.

Lum's was pure heaven flavorful with just the right amount of mesquite IOWs not a forest fire like some places. Its was very moist tender. A true nom moment. Hands down Lum's is the best in Junction and if I may say so i don't see how any BBQ can better better than LUM's.

If you are passing through Junction and you want the best its Lum's. If you're looking for odd then it's Cooper's

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst BBQ I have ever had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I had heard people talk about how wonderful the food was from here, What ever you do DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
It was so dry, I could not even tear the ribs apart. They should have thrown the ones they served me away. The brisket I got was not any better either. They did not have any BBQ sauce to go with the meat they had a liquid dipping sauce. The single serve ice cream was good.
We spent $53.00 on 2 plates of food and threw most of it in the trash.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.