We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of Painted Buntings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Llano River State Park

South Llano River State Park
HC 15 Box 224, Junction, TX 76849
915-446-3994
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Junction
Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful, riverside park full of deer and wild turkey.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home of Painted Buntings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great State Park. Four comfortable blinds for bird watching that have feed & water for the birds. We saw lots of colorful Painted Buntings and a few Indigo Buntings, as well as other colorful birds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“River Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My kids really enjoyed the classic river play. Next time we will float the whole thing in tubes. We've gone down in kayaks and had a blast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A really pretty area. Lots of wildlife and the river tubing was fun. I hope to make it back someday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular river and camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the 4th year my family and I have gone camping at South Llano River State Park. The park is beautiful and clean. The rangers are nice and helpful. The river is spring fed and always moving and it is just beautiful. I found this place by accident and it has been the most awesome place. We love it. We will be going back for a 5th year!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy camping, Clean bathrooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time campers, this was an easy place to go, with clean bathrooms, water and electricity hookups at every camp site. We walked to scenic overlooks, rushing rapids, and a small pond they called a lake. The rangers feed the birds so there is incredible birdwatching. We saw turkeys, goldfinches, dove, painted buntings, northern cardiinals, etc.

There was one rattlesnake sighting, and the park ranger took care of it immediately. They were very kind and responsive. We did not get to attend any of the ranger talks or guided walks, but there were plenty to learn from.

Lots of people brought bicycles, hammocks, and binoculars. They were very low on mosquitos, despite the big rain we had Saturday night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Llano River State Park also viewed

Been to South Llano River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Llano River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.