We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
306 East Delta Street, Jefferson, TX 75657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Murchison, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have been staying at various B&B's in Jefferson, TX for the last 30 years. One of our favorite retreats was the McKay House B&B. Under previous management, the rooms were lovely, clean with all the ammenities and extra touches that mean so much.
Needless to say, w were looking forward to our stay the second week in June, 2012.
We arrived late, around 6:00pm, and were given a lukewarm welcome by the owner.
The room was lovely, decorated in a country style but it wasn't really clean. There was lots of dust and the floors needed a good dust mopping. The towels were soured and smelled like mildew. We asked for fresh towels, they were the same. My husband bought two bath and hand towels for us to use. Our room was not tended to at all during our 2 night stay. The garbage was not emptied, the coffee and water pots were not cleaned or refreshed and the toliet paper wasn't repllinished, we used tissue instead. Our beds were left unmade and no fresh towels, were provided. This was a great dissapointment given the price of the room.
I must say that the breakfasts were delicious, completely homemade, even the biscuits and snacks were wonderful homemade sweets each day. Cold drinks were provieded any time of day or night.
I really think it would be simple to improve the service, especially since there was only 2 other couples staying at the inn. I hope the McKay House will take this all as constructive criticism. Until improvements are made, I would not reccomend a stay at the McKay house B&B in Jefferson, TX.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We are also very disappointed that you did not want to express your unhappiness about your stay until well after you had departed. No effort was made to express that you were dissatisfied with anything - you even went so far as to say how much you enjoyed your stay with us - while you were here.

We strive hard to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. If you had said something beyond how much you were enjoying yourselves or that you needed anything, we might have been able to rectify the problem at that time. But, maybe the over an hour at breakfast with just us the first morning, didn't offer you the opportunity to bring any of this up.

The room you had is the Rustic Keeping Room. It was freshly swept, mopped and dusted the day of your arrival. We're sorry you felt it wasn't clean. Your husband did come in and ask about fresh towels because he thought they were "spoiled." He was given a fresh set - straight out of the dryer. Possibly you did not like the fabric softener scent - but since nothing else was said about it, we had no way to check again and attempt to rectify the problem.

Your room was refreshed the first morning. We made the bed, double checked the towels for "spoiled" odor, reset the coffee maker and checked the fridge for sodas, etc. We only do this once a day. If you needed it more often, that was not expressed to us and for that we're sorry we didn't anticipate your needs and fulfill them better.

We appreciate the comments and hope that in the future guests will express their concerns directly to us so we can attempt to rectify the problem immediately, and not wait to have a public, non-correctable at the time, unfair review result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haltom City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This B&B was absolutely beautiful...inside and out. The beds were very comfortable as well as the rooms. Hugh and Darla are wonderful hosts and great at recommending things to do and places to eat. The breakfasts were really good (I'm going to miss that :) ). We had our 3 year old daughter with us and they and the other guests were very welcoming towards her. I would highly recommend staying here! We are already planning our stay here for Christmas.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Quilt Room and it was very quiet, never heard anyone moving around upstairs or down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just turned up here one night in July (2011) on our road trip round Texas, from our lonely planet travel guide recommendation. There was a room available, fortunately, so we were able to stay. The owner was lovely and cooked a fantastic breakfast the next morning. He also sat with us and chatted while we ate. We are not normally a fan of this sort of thing, but it was very interesting to talk to someone local and find out so much about Texas that we didn't know (we are from the UK). He was very knowledgable and bright, and it was great to find out the ins and outs of small town America. We would never have got that in a Best Western!

Our room was lovely (we were shown all the rooms and could choose the one we wanted) with a nice hot shower. You can also help yourself to the booze and fruit juices - never had that before in a B and B - really nice touch! We had brought our own beers, but after 4 hours in the car in Texas in July were rather warm....... Good location - nice and quiet end of town, but an easy walk in the evening for dinner. Would highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This B and B was nice, as mentioned by other travellers. Loved the house and the location was nice. The food was outstanding. One day we had blueberry french toast, an apple dumpling, champagne eggs and sausage. The next day was good as well. The 'snacks' they set out at night were fab - pies, peanut brittle, fudge and trash mix. Not sure if that is normal or just because they had alot left from Thanksgiving. The place had a little deferred maintenance in places, but it was very clean and innkeepers were friendly. They had decorated for Christmas - almost to the point of too much stuff and I was feeling claustrophobic! Other than that, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here on our first getaway since having our first child and found it to be completely charming and just what we needed. We stayed in the Quilt Room which was very spacious and on the first floor near the dining area. While the house and cottage both were almost full, very rarely did we hear other guests or the owners and in fact napped quite soundly without any interruptions at all one afternoon. The breakfasts were amazing! And in between our walks to the Main Street area it was nice to grab a homemade snack or drink that they leave out for all guests. The owners are very laid back which we found refreshing! We'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Reserved Garden Gable Suites complete with his and hers antique claw-foot tubs. Reservations were made along with an edible surprise of chocolate covered strawberries. Upon our arrival no strawberries. The Inn Keeper said they no longer offered this service and blamed the Internet for the confusion. The bathroom in our suite needed much attention. The water pressure was low, therefore it took a while before the tubs were half full and by this time the water was warm. There was not enough hot water to rewarm the baths. Fixtures had been removed from both tubs and new fixtures were installed at the top of each. One of the tubs still had the holes exposed from the original fixture position. The tub could only hold a small portion of water or the water poured out of the three holes onto the wood floor when one attempted to lay down. A rather large leak appeared above one of the sinks and was quite an eye-sore. The mattress was very soft therefore we both had a sleepless night.

We addressed our issues to the Inn Keeper he had an answer/excuse andwas not aware of these problems. He commented he had installed a new 50-gallon water heater. This is not enough water capacity for one room with two tubs.

The property is nice but needs some attention.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at McKay's house Nov. 24th -27th their Thanksgiving dinner offer was what attracted us. I decided to have my family go out of town somewhere other than stay home to celebrate Thanksgiving. We found McKay's house that was offering a Thanksgiving dinner with the stay. I looked at the review from this site as well as others and decided that this was where my family should go. IMy family was not disappointed at all with our stay. I was disappointed that they were so popular that they did not have room for our daughter and her friend but Hugh recommended another BnB. My husband had never been to a BnB before and he was so wasn't sure if this would be a good idea but he was gamed and said, Let's pack up and go." Needles to say he was very pleased with the experience and the service. We had such a relaxing time. The shopping and the events in Jefferson were a great experience too but the treats and the food at the McKay's house were amazing. My husband couldn't stop talking about it when we got back home. He shared our Thanksgiving trip with everyone back home. Darla and Hugh were also nice enough to get a tin container of goodies together for our daughter and her friend that had to stay at another BnB. My daughter couldn't get enough. These extras just added to what was already a wonderful experience and stay at the McKay's house. I just hope my husband and daughter remembered to leave a Darla a big tip!!
We are most defintely returning to the McKay's house on our next outing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 306 East Delta Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alley-McKay House is a romantic Bed and Breakfast in the "Quality Hill" section of the National & State Historic District of Jefferson, Texas. We welcome you like family, but treat you like special guests. Remember, we don’t want you to just relax, but come enjoy yourselves and have fun.For a romantic getaway, the popular 1851 Alley-McKay House Bed & Breakfast Inn provides guests with luxury lodging and is within a short stroll of fine dining, antiques, shopping, carriage and riverboat rides in Jefferson's historic downtown area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKay House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.