We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Great - Smoke is a downside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auntie Skinner's Riverboat Club

Auntie Skinner's Riverboat Club
107 W Austin St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2201
903-665-7121
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Jefferson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food is Great - Smoke is a downside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited this place on our way back home from vacation. The building is huge and you can tell it holds a lot of local stories and history. We visited after the local lunch hour so it was not crowded. I can imagine it must hold a big Friday and Saturday night party crowd. Our wait staff got us seated qucikly and drink order placed & served quickly. Then you need to "set for a spell". I ordered a shrimp bisque which took about 15 minutes to come to the table and the cup was just half full and was more of a stew. For what I did get, it was very delicious and had whole shrimp for every bite. Entrees came about 20 minutes later. All of our entrees were Southern comfort favorites and were fresh made. I am from Houston where smoke is banned from all public places so the multiple smokers in the place were a downside. I would come back to this place next year when passing through but I hope TX legislature passes a no-smoking bill in public places in 2015. (Please) I have to reccommend that families with young children not come here because of the cigarette smoke atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    56
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smokey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Food was excellent. I got the chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes, and fried okra. I ordered a dinner salad to start with but it didn't come until the main dishes arrived, which was a little disappointing. Also since it's a bar people were allowed to smoke anywhere, so there was a man smoking right next to us and it was bothersome.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food was great but the atmosphere was smokey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I guess I should have known when I walked in and saw the big bar at the front it would be a bar. I'm not used to that from the Dallas area. Most places that serve food are non-smoking. The food was great. Fun stuff to look at on the walls. If I visited I might go there for lunch again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“I keep coming back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Auntie Skinner's has a lot of good memories for me. I don't usually go to restaurants where smoking is prevalent but I have learned if you pick your time, it's not so bad. Not only that, the staff is courteous and efficient and the kitchen produces some great food.

The chef will be inventive if you have a reasonable request. The last couple of time I ask for their jalapeno pimiento cheese samich grilled with a strip of crispy bacon. It is great! Try it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ordered chicken fingers and chicken fried steak. Both dinners were greasy and tasted burnt from the oil being to hot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auntie Skinner's Riverboat Club also viewed

 

Been to Auntie Skinner's Riverboat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auntie Skinner's Riverboat Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.