We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good brisket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverport Barbeque

Riverport Barbeque
201 N Polk St, Jefferson, TX 75657
903.665.2341
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Being from the deep south I usually associate good barbeque with meat from a pig.
But being in Texas I gave a brisket sandwich a try and definitely was not disappointed!
The meat was tender and juicy without falling apart-a combination I have trouble getting when I do brisket.
The portions are large and the price reasonable.
My wife and I also enjoyed the sides of beans and sweet potato fries.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped here to eat and were very pleased. Brisket so lean and tender it falls apart, and great potato salad. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

No frills, but the brisket sandwiches were quite tasty. Very tender with a nice smoky flavor. The swamp fries looked interesting, but we'll save those for another trip. My wife liked her sweet potato fries, but the potato salas was average. The BBQ was definitely the star of the show.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Outstanding brisket, period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a follow-up to my 1-30-2014 review: I had a glowing review then, and this is a supporting addition. Once again, there were 5 of us and we were able to grab a table before the noon rush when up to 8 stood in line at the order counter. There are very friendly people working at Riverport and it rubs off on the hungry clientele. It is far from fancy, but it is clean and smells GREAT! All 5 of us ordered a Sandwich Basket at $7.25 each: 2 chopped brisket, 2 pulled-pork, and I could not pass up the sliced brisket again. Each basket comes with a "side".... the BBQ beans are filled with beef bits and the potato salad is super. I am trying to plan a return before summer ends. I highly recommend Riverport Barbeque and Jefferson, Texas in general.... makes me want to be a Texan!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,tx
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprising good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Quality and quantity of food were top notch. Not to spicy but then again a option should have been made available. Clean establishment(,because of a recent remodel). Need's a better choice of desserts and FRESH peanuts.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverport Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Riverport Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverport Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.