We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ribs Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverport Barbeque

Riverport Barbeque
201 N Polk St, Jefferson, TX 75657
903.665.2341
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Jefferson
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Daingerfield, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Ribs Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were sorry they were closed on Monday's because their Barbeque is some of the best.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Northeast Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Previous writers have talked about the "dryness of the meat" and "Eckrich sausage". I'm here to tell ya that this place has the best brisket and best ribs I've ever tasted (I am a Cajun and have eaten many places). Have not had the pulled apart pork but I can assure you that if this is a cheap brand of sausage, they have done something very short of a miracle... given the sausage a very good and smoked flavor. The sweet potato fries are very good. The coleslaw is EXCELLENT. The sauce is a very twangy sauce and made to cover the meat. It's a very country come to town restaurant with excellent bbq. The town itself is loaded with neat little shops. My family has been about 5 times in the past 16 months. We will go again. In fact, if they weren't closed on New Years Day, we would be there. They are closed until Wed 1/4/12.

Normal hours are Mon (CLOSED) Tues-Thurs 11am-6pm Fri & Sat 11am-7pm and Sun 11am-2pm.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Okay but not up to expected standard for Texas barbecue.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We detoured to see Jefferson and arrived about 1:30 in the afternoon. The town was very quiet and several restaurants were closed. Riverport had good reviews in Tripadvisor so we tried it. The service was fine. Order at a counter, get your own drink and the food is brought to your table. We both had pulled pork sandwiches, which was not really pulled but merely chunked up. It was very dry. You add your own sauce at the table. Only one type of sauce available. I had potato salad also, and it was from a can. My wife had sweet potato fries that were very good. The meat quality was very good but dry, dry. I would look at other options if anything else is open. As we toured the town we saw a couple of other spots that were very busy. Look around before you settle on Riverport.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not sure what all the hype is about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place was the only BBQ show in town and highly recommended. We ordered a 2 meat plate to share and the sausage was definitely Eckrich smoked sausage and the brisket was rather normal and unremarkable.
Good atmosphere... potato salad was really good.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bar B Que MMMn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

this was our 2nd trip to Riverport and delighted to see the atmosphere and food has not changed at all. Very good food and more than enough to eat.......... make this the first place to stop and eat

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverport Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Riverport Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverport Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.