We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique decor and good food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburger Store

Hamburger Store
203 Market Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
903-665-8302
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Jefferson
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Under new owners! It has been completely remodeled and reopened. Come in and see for yourself and give us a try!
Ben Wheeler, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unique decor and good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and my parents took me to Jefferson for my birthday and we had lunch here. It was great! We were a little scared because i had seen a good many bad reviews. But our burgers were all fantastic and huge and tasty. The fries (and my husband and i are fry people) were great! and we enjoyed looking around at all the dollars to see how far people had traveled. It was a great,fun,and tasty experience. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    24
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting decor, but not quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a small hamburger joint with dollar bills papering the entire walls, ceilings, down the columns...everywhere! What we didn't expect was we would have time to count them all while waiting for our food. We all got hamburgers but apparently, the cook put the wrong toppings on top of one, so instead of just taking those off, he must have started over with a new burger. We did get an apology for the long wait, but if you are in a hurry, this is not the place to go. The burgers were very good, however.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Need a new cook”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went on a Sunday afternoon about 1:30pm. One other table occupied and they were finishing up. My wife and I ordered burgers cooked medium and onion rings. The waitress came back and said we needed to sign our names by our orders if we wanted our burgers medium. We were amazed but signed. Then she came back and said we needed to print out names by our signatures, in case we got sick and came after them with a lawsuit. I'm not making this up!!! The burgers came out cooked medium and the waitress said the cook would be happy to cook them more if we wanted. The burgers were adequite and rings were good, the waitress was nice and the experieance, TOTALLY unappetizing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Highly Disappointed! Hopefully not a normal experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was a Monday night about 6:30 when we walked in and were amazed at the amount of $1 bills attached to the walls and ceiling. The place was practically empty with only 3 tables occupied. We ordered our food (which was priced about $2 more per item than we were expecting to pay) and eagerly waited for our Burger, Catfish fillets, onion rings, fries, and beans. And waited, and waited,and looked at Dollar bills, and waited..for 40 minutes with no explanation from the staff (amazing)! When the food did arrive the burger was the winner, as it was normal, but not exceptional. The 5 fish fillets were so small I could have stacked them on one fork and the center of the cup of beans was still cold (can you say microwave?) The worst fillets and beans I ever paid for. I asked to talk to the management (I eat out alot and wanted to encourage the owner/manager to improve) but after waiting 5 minutes we finally left. Our lesson learned - if you want real food and want to get your $$ worth.....go down the street!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, could have faster service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went for late lunch - service was a bit slow - we know locals and they said to expect it. The chocolate pie was great - the merinque was almost 6 inches tall. Burgers were very large and juicy - but fries were small portion for the price. Good home cookin' but could use a bit of improvement on some things.
We added our dollar bill to the wall like everyone else - will look for it when we go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamburger Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburger Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.