We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
312 South Alley Street, Jefferson, TX 75657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first stay at an B&B & it was so much more than what we expected!

HOSTS: Ann & Jerry are fabulous hosts. Very friendly, approachable, & accommodating. They were not only professional, but made you feel right at home! It is obvious that they love their home and what they do!! They felt like old friends. Each evening after going to dinner in one of the many wonderful restaurants, we would come back and enjoy drinks and lots of laughs with the hosts and other guests on the back porch. Very knowledgable about the home, town, things to do and restaurant recommendations. One of the service they provided that we really enjoyed was from their help named Justin. He would drive us downtown which was a only 2 minutes away, via golf cart. When we were ready to go back we paged him and he was there to get us immediately! He even took us on a tour of the town when we first arrived. We really enjoyed him and hope he is around when we return.
BREAKFAST: Ann is a great cook and the food was delicious and plentiful. I could never finish it! Eggs, meat, biscuits(2)/gravy, fresh fruit dish topped with whipped cream and cherry, and fresh squeezed orange juice that was out of this world delicious! Coffee was great as well.
ROOM: We stayed in the Browning room and it was GORGEOUS!! Spacious, clean, large comfy bed, large tub/walk in shower, robes, mini frig, tv hidden in armoire, fireplace, private porch w/rockers & swing; instead of entering through house we used the private porch to come and go. We toured the other rooms and they were all beautiful and inviting.
RESTAURANTS: You can't go wrong when it comes to dining! Ann made us reservations at Memories and More and we were greeted by the very friendly owner and seated near the piano at our reserved table. She really made us feel welcomed and as if we were old friends. The restaurant is upscale, but very relaxed and inviting.
SHOPPING: Endless shopping. So many shops from Antiques to the modern and the upscale. Their is something for everyone! Just browsing around at all the antiques was the best part!

We are already looking at the calendar and planning our next trip to the Claiborne House and this friendly town! We cannot wait to return!!
Jeff & Suelena

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calvin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved our stay at Claiborne House! Ann and Jerry went above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable at their beautiful home. Everything was so clean and comfortable. I cant think of anything that could have made it any better. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend getaway here. The B&B was in a great location, the owners were the best hosts and the house is beautiful! An all around good time was had by all! It was Mardi Gras weekend. Jerry and Ann made us feel welcome and introduced us to the history of this beautiful old home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Browning Room with a big garden tub;
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I rode the bikes up for the Valentines weekend. We were greeted by Ann and Jerry in the driveway. They both ride and offered us the garage and a beer!! They are the friendliest hosts I have ever stayed with. The house was in beautiful condition, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great and relaxing. It truly felt like we were staying with old friends. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, and will be most defiantly staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was the Dickenson room. We loved it because it was above the garage, and made access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I will recommend this bed and breakfast above anywhere I've ever stayed. I had the most amazing romantic weekend getaway with my fiancé. We did a lot of searching for the perfect place to get away from our everyday life to relax. We found the Claiborne house and could not find anything we did not like about it. We were not disappointed when we got there The hosts ann and jerry were incredibly friendly and inviting. They immediately made us feel like we were at home. The room was more beautiful than the pictures. We were able to lay back and relax in a huge jacuzzi tub surrounded by roses with the fire place burning creating a warm romantic atmosphere. Ann is an amazing cook and served us a warm home cooked meal to get our day started. We loved it so much we ended up staying an extra night. I cannot wait to come back to this wonderful town and stay with ann and jerry again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Sam Rayburn, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Probably the BEST of B&B's we've been to, & that's quite a few! A GREAT ATMOSPHERE, WITH NEW OWNERS, the house is wonderful, very well decorated, with charming antiques throughout. The HUGE breakfast was great, served in formal style, with every detail you can imagine!!! Our bed was very comfy, as was the entire feeling of this GRAND old home . We felt Sooo relaxed, we stayed extra night. Jefferson is a great town, to do a lot, or nothing at all!! Thanks Jerry & Ann, we'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Claiborne House is under new ownership since September, 2013. We spent a week-end there to celebrate a family birthday. Ann and Jerry were off-the-charts gracious and wonderful hosts. Once they found out about the birthday, they were completely focused on making sure he had a memorable day, including an apple strudel cake. There were roses in the room to welcome us. The breakfasts were amazing - Ann is a fantastic cook. At breakfast, another couple who has made several visits to Jefferson said that this was the nicest place that they'd stayed. We've already convinced friends who live about an hour away to stay at Claiborne for an upcoming getaway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 312 South Alley Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.