We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
312 South Alley Street, Jefferson, TX 75657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Elaine made us feel welcome from the first greeting. The Wilde suite was nice and quiet. Nice quiet neighborhood, walking distance from the historical downtown area. Elaine made several dining suggestions in response to our inquiry. Great breakfast both mornings. Will recomend to friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Claiborne House was fabulous! We had never stayed at a B & B before and did not know what to expect. We questioned the privacy we would have, but after staying here, you have all the privacy you desire. It was romantic and peaceful, like we stepped back in time and the world just melted away! We stayed in The Wilde room and had a jacuzzi tub, which was awesome! The have their own bath salt, which is terrific. I wish I could get some more of it!

We went on the horse drawn carriage ride, and went on the ghost walk! Learned a lot of Texas History and was very interesting!

I highly recommend The Claiborne and can't wait for our next stay!

My husband questioned going to Jefferson altogether, we thought it was for older people and senior citizens. We are young 30 and LOVED Jefferson!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineHolden, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you stay, please ask and we will be happy to furnish extra bath grains. We look forward to your future stay with us. By the way, April is beautiful in Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREVEPORT, LA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had another enjoyable stay at the Claiborne House B&B. It was our third visit and we have enjoyed every stay. Sadly it was for just 2 nights. We ate at the Austin Street Bistro and it was very good. Also ate at Five D Cattle Co and it was good also. Hope to go again one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I wanted a little getaway for a few days, and the Claiborne House really made it special. We are vegetarian, and this can sometimes be a problem at a bed and breakfast;
Elaine was so accommodating, and made a different and delicious breakfast each morning of our stay (3 days.) We stayed in the Browning Room; it was very romantic, with a cozy fireplace and a Jacuzzi so big it took half an hour just to fill it with water! Jefferson has some great antique and memorabilia/nostalgia shops, and we thoroughly enjoyed our personalized "swamp boat" tour of Caddo Lake with John of Caddo Outback Backwater Tours. Don't miss the killer pralines at the Jefferson General Store!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

So...we have lived in Longview 26 years and never really VISITED Jefferson. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and I wonder WHAT TOOK US SO LONG! The Claiborne House is pure class....excellent food.... fun breakfast company and just an overall wonderful weekend. We stayed in the WILDE room and had our own king size bed as well as our own Jacuzzi in the room!

Jefferson has so much great FUN history with the ghost tour at nite and then visiting some of the buildings and places that have "activity". The Grove was awesome! Make sure you go by the General Store and buy the books by the owner of The Grove.....gives WONDERFUL info on all the ghost activity. We spent 1 1/2 hours at the Cemetery and walked around with his book reading all about the past pioneers of Jefferson....amazing!!

Dont wait any longer....go enjoy this quaint town.....btw..shopping is great!!!

Room Tip: Wilde room was incredible......Browning room is suppose to have some "activity" from Capta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a group of 6 couples and filled the whole venue. We had a wonderful time and the breakfasts were the best! Jefferson is a quaint town. We also loved the ghost tour and the Jay Gould railway car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

What a quaint little get away from the hustle and bustle! Rustic 19th century amenities are absolutely beautiful yet very comfortable and relaxing. The owner/hostess Elaine is delightful and her home cooked cuisine is as wonderfully presented as it is delicious (and it IS delicious!). She even shares recipes! Definitely would return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 312 South Alley Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.