We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Cemetery

Oakwood Cemetery
607 N. Alley St., Jefferson, TX 75657
903.665.3733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 attractions in Jefferson
Type: Cemeteries
Attraction Details
Carrollton, Texas, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took the time to go out to Oakwood Cemetery and found the oldest plots in the back. Extremely interesting. Recommend Mitchel Whitington's book about the cemetery which we read the evening after we were there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful during the day, creepy at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I love the history of cemetaries - and this one has a lot of history. There are a lot of old tombstones - some dating in the mid 1800's. The back of the cemetary is the older part and has some elaborately carved tombstones. Read about Diamond Bessie -- and then visit her grave here. At night it gets a little creepy -- caught a lot of orbs (if you believe in that).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The imfamous Diamond Bessie is buried there. The story about her and her demise is quite intreging. Other important people of Jefferson are buied there also.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have had the opportunity to tour this wonderful little cemetery. The cemetery holds one of Jefferson, Texas most famous persons "Diamond Bessie" if you are interested in knowing about her then just ask a local yocal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointblank, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Statuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A beautiful cemetary. I have never seen such beautiful stutuary. Saw this cemetary on one of the brochures and thought we would check it out on our way out of town. I am so glad we did. It was lovely. If you enjoy cemetaries you will love this one.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Oakwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oakwood Cemetery to your Saves list