We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay here yet...but will be going back to stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Excelsior House
Save
You added The Excelsior House to your Saves list
211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Aledo, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Did not stay here yet...but will be going back to stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

While in town this past weekend, we wandered into the lobby to see this very beautiful and historic hotel. The staff were so gracious and friendly. Both Christina and Ellie showed us around and told us about the history of the hotel as we had missed the regular tour. I fell in love and can't wait to come back to Jefferson to stay here. We actually stayed in Bed and breakfasts this trip and I had no idea there was an historic hotel to choose from. The decor and furnishings were so genuine and beautiful The Ladies Garden club should be very proud. I was told they have a special for sunday through Thursday to stay any room for 89.00. I think this is a good deal indeed after seeing one of the rooms. I also heard about the delicious orange blossom muffins all over town so I can't wait to go back and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly Lake Ranch,TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Although this historic old hotel is beginning to show its age, it is well worth a visit. Each room is unique with its own personality and name. First floor rooms are larger and are recommended if you have mobility issues. My wife, grandson (10 yrs) and I booked the Diamond Bessie Suite so grandson could have a bed and TV to himself on the beautiful sun porch which opens to a beautiful New Orleans-style court yard. This is not a family with kids venue, but should appeal to all with a love of history, Has been patronized by presidents, first ladies, heads of state and industrial giants with guest registers on display! The "Excelsior Breakfast" is itself worth a trip to Jefferson..Run by great volunteers of the Garden Club, with renovations ongoing it will ultimately regain its 5 star rating! We are frequent visitors and will return again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've stayed at the excelsior Hotel twice this year. Once in March for a quick anniversary getaway. And again in May for the Civil War reenactment. Both times were very nice. The hotel is old and that is what gives it it's charm. The breakfast on the sun porch is fantastic and would never want to miss it. The hotel staff is very good and eager to help.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Bessie suite. It's a really nice room. The private porch made the stay even more enjoyable, and it has a daybed with a trundle so three can sleep there comfortably.
The breakfast is a must. Best coffee ever, and the orange blossom biscuits are so delicious.
We have also stayed in the Jay Gould room (it smells really odd) as well as the Rutherford B. Hayes room. It has a great claw foot tub.
The hotel staff is a sweet bunch of garden club ladies and they are very helpful and welcoming.
The little town is great place to shop and have lunch.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made a last minute trip to the Excelsior Hotel last night for a quick getaway. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was very cordial. Our room was decorated beautifully, but had a very old, musty smell. I realize this hotel is old, but the carpet was the same carpet from 20 years ago. Our breakfast on the sun porch was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. This could be an awesome place if there was just some remodeling done with attention to details. We will probably not stay here again because of the odor in the room. However, the furnishings, dining area, and courtyard are beautiful!

Room Tip: Any room that has newer carpeting may be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The setting takes you back in time. Peaceful, beautiful, and comfortable. hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Loved the authentic furniture and decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Oldest hotel in Texas. Felt more like a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. Old furnishings and room set ups gave it that "step back in time" feel! Slept great. Right in the middle of the town. Enjoyed nice stroll thru the beautiful downtown neighborhood. All shops were conveniently located to hotel. Once we got settled in, did not need our car the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Excelsior House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior House

Address: 211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest and most historic Hotel in the entire State of Texas. Currently owned by The Jessie Allen Wise Garden Club. 15 Historic rooms Breakfast served to our guests daily. Desk Manager on duty 24 hours a day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Excelsior House Hotel Jefferson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.