We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Excelsior House
Save
You added The Excelsior House to your Saves list
211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Bessie suite. It's a really nice room. The private porch made the stay even more enjoyable, and it has a daybed with a trundle so three can sleep there comfortably.
The breakfast is a must. Best coffee ever, and the orange blossom biscuits are so delicious.
We have also stayed in the Jay Gould room (it smells really odd) as well as the Rutherford B. Hayes room. It has a great claw foot tub.
The hotel staff is a sweet bunch of garden club ladies and they are very helpful and welcoming.
The little town is great place to shop and have lunch.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made a last minute trip to the Excelsior Hotel last night for a quick getaway. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was very cordial. Our room was decorated beautifully, but had a very old, musty smell. I realize this hotel is old, but the carpet was the same carpet from 20 years ago. Our breakfast on the sun porch was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. This could be an awesome place if there was just some remodeling done with attention to details. We will probably not stay here again because of the odor in the room. However, the furnishings, dining area, and courtyard are beautiful!

Room Tip: Any room that has newer carpeting may be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The setting takes you back in time. Peaceful, beautiful, and comfortable. hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Loved the authentic furniture and decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Oldest hotel in Texas. Felt more like a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. Old furnishings and room set ups gave it that "step back in time" feel! Slept great. Right in the middle of the town. Enjoyed nice stroll thru the beautiful downtown neighborhood. All shops were conveniently located to hotel. Once we got settled in, did not need our car the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a really cool hotel that is over 150 years old. It has been upgraded enough to be thoroughly comfortable for modern travelers without losing the antique charm and ambience of the hotel. In the center of town, close to all of the shops and activities, it is one of our favorite places in Jefferson. The southern style breakfast on the sunporch in not to be missed. Room 19 is our favorite. Great for couples. And I do not care what the Texas Paranormal Committee, or whatever they call themselves say they found, the Hotel does it's share of haunts!!!. So just get used to it. They are kind spirits though, and won't harm you. /;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,737 reviews 1,737 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 334 cities Reviews in 334 cities
734 helpful votes 734 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Reservations are sometimes hard to come by at this old hotel located right downtown and within walking distance of many of the town's attractions. Rooms are varied and all are nice. Good breakfast. Great place for a week end getaway for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Excelsior House Hotel was probably my favourite place on a recent road tip in the USA. We hadn't planned on staying in Jefferson and the helpful lady at the Chamber of Commerce directed us to the Excelsior where we took advantage of the Traveller's Special. We were given a tour of the hotel and grounds by the lady at reception who also explained some of the history of the hotel and showed us to our rooms. The rooms, like the hotel, were beautiful, full of antiques and one off pieces which give each room an indiviual charm. The rooms were very clean and well kept and on a this hot day were kept cool by air conditioners and fans. I had a large four poster bed and claw foot tub in the bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more polite or done more to help which added to the delightful atmosphere of the establishment. The entire hotel is bursting with history, including Oscar Wilde's signature in a 19th century guest register. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, especially if you're looking for a change from the sameness of most modern hotels and motels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Excelsior House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior House

Address: 211 W Austin Street, Jefferson, TX 75657
Location: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Excelsior House Hotel Jefferson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.